We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with a friend...”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just returned from wonderful two night stay at the Bitou River Lodge. I am in my forties and was traveling with my 25 yr old stepson. We both truly enjoyed our stay at the Bitou River Lodge, and are in full agreement that the breakfasts at the Bitou were the clear winner across our entire 16 day vacation (which included a stay in a 5-star luxury game lodge). Yes, the breakfasts were that good. Sue also provided excellent information about the area and gave us great ideas for what to do while we were there. She suggested an afternoon hike along the Robberg Peninsula, which was fantastic and the perfect activity for us. We also went horseback riding at Hog Hollow Horse Trails, which was awesome (we did a ride through the forest). One should note that this property is slightly outside of town, so one needs to drive to town for dinners, etc. Overall, staying here felt a lot like staying at a friend's house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the awesome review! The breakfast comments made my day .... :-)
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

In a beautiful location with the river running peacefully at the bottom of the garden, and canoes to borrow. A tranquil setting, beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms and a generous and delicious breakfast. Very good birdwatching as well.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river and have their own little verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dressmakerdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, greatly appreciated!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay was incredible. Lovely food, the rooms were amazingly beautiful, clean, and hospitable. The breakfast was five stars, the setting of the rooms on the river is exquisite. The rustic setting included canoes. Our room was cozy and mostly decorated in white. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope we'll see you here again.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Room lovely, service excellent. Food fantastic. Bathroom needs modernising to justify star rating. Pool average - needs modernising. However, on balance we had a very lovely time and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank faye_lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thanks for your review, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We chose to be a little out of town knowing Plett itself was likely to be so busy over Christmas / New Year. So we were very pleased with our choice of the Bitou River Lodge which turned out to be everything we hoped for and more.
A wonderful place to stay - as confirmed many times by the other reviews.. Located in the most beautiful area and designed with thought and quality. Sue is a wonderful host who strikes the perfect balance of helpfulness and privacy, with a quality service and breakfasts to match.
We will not hesitate to go back to on our return to South Africa.
Thank you Sue. It was a real pleasure.
Amanda & James Leonard

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks, Amanda & James, so appreciate the review ... we loved having you to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my 1st experience with a B & B.
Last year I stayed at the Beacon Island Hotel for 2 weeks & far preferred the B & B experience.
I just cannot say enough good things about the Bitou River Lodge.
I stayed with my 2 daughters from Canada & definitely plan to return with my partner..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JERRY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you! Hope we'll see you again before too long!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a find!

We came to Bitou River Lodge having been recommended by our friends, but no recommendation could explain the ambiance of this place.
We had tea and seed rusks at a garden table, not 2m from the river and its birds and lilies, with a very loyal german shepherd by our side.

Sue made us feel right at home and really showed us the locals way around a very bustling Plett, mid-season!

But luckily we had booked early, with Sue's planning ahead, and got in at all the best restaurants for dinner, but then could escape the hustle and bustle to the chirping crickets, drowned out only by my fiance's snoring.!

For those of you who have not visited Plettenberg Bay yet, go go go! You'd be mad not to visit this beach town on the Garden Route or to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Room number five is the honeymoon suite and right next to the pool.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Big thank you for an awesome review! Hope we'll see you again soon.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
208 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
126 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $116 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed... Explore the wetlands by canoe... Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches... Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality... Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing