We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in peaceful accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in peaceful accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Room lovely, service excellent. Food fantastic. Bathroom needs modernising to justify star rating. Pool average - needs modernising. However, on balance we had a very lovely time and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank faye_lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for your review, much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
129
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We chose to be a little out of town knowing Plett itself was likely to be so busy over Christmas / New Year. So we were very pleased with our choice of the Bitou River Lodge which turned out to be everything we hoped for and more.
A wonderful place to stay - as confirmed many times by the other reviews.. Located in the most beautiful area and designed with thought and quality. Sue is a wonderful host who strikes the perfect balance of helpfulness and privacy, with a quality service and breakfasts to match.
We will not hesitate to go back to on our return to South Africa.
Thank you Sue. It was a real pleasure.
Amanda & James Leonard

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks, Amanda & James, so appreciate the review ... we loved having you to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my 1st experience with a B & B.
Last year I stayed at the Beacon Island Hotel for 2 weeks & far preferred the B & B experience.
I just cannot say enough good things about the Bitou River Lodge.
I stayed with my 2 daughters from Canada & definitely plan to return with my partner..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JERRY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you! Hope we'll see you again before too long!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a find!

We came to Bitou River Lodge having been recommended by our friends, but no recommendation could explain the ambiance of this place.
We had tea and seed rusks at a garden table, not 2m from the river and its birds and lilies, with a very loyal german shepherd by our side.

Sue made us feel right at home and really showed us the locals way around a very bustling Plett, mid-season!

But luckily we had booked early, with Sue's planning ahead, and got in at all the best restaurants for dinner, but then could escape the hustle and bustle to the chirping crickets, drowned out only by my fiance's snoring.!

For those of you who have not visited Plettenberg Bay yet, go go go! You'd be mad not to visit this beach town on the Garden Route or to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Room number five is the honeymoon suite and right next to the pool.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Big thank you for an awesome review! Hope we'll see you again soon.
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for a flying visit on a day trip out from our base in Cape Town. The moment we arrived we were greeted by Sue and her friendly dogs. We needed to be up and out early in the morning to go to the Elephant Sanctuary and Sue was happy to serve us breakfast early so we could get out on time.

The room was beautiful, modern but sweet, perfectly clean and with all amenities provided. She gave us a little map and lots of tips on where to eat in the evening, also offering to make reservations. On our return we went for a sunset paddle along the river on the canoes, which was incredibly peaceful and we loved spotting all the wildlife. We then sat out on the little private room patio with some drinks to finish off our lovely afternoon. As the sun went down the mosquitoes did come out, which is unavoidable being by water. There was a little BBQ on the patio and I think if you had this going it would keep the bugs away, plus there is also a large can of bugspray provided in the room!

There is a large ceiling fan that kept us relatively cool at night, and a big mosquito net around the bed should any of them get in.

Breakfast was quite the spread, all sorts of things for all tastes, plus eggs cooked to order, delicious warm fresh muffins, it's a shame we didn't have to time to really savour it!

I would heartily recommend the river lodge for a special stay, we were made to feel really welcome and the attention to detail in the room and the service sets it apart. Just give yourself more time than we did to make the most of it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Big thank you for your excellent review - so appreciate it!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have stayed at Sue's many times and the B and B never ceases to please. It's lovely location on the banks of the river, her "breakfasts to die for" (especially the proper scones with proper clotted cream and jam), the friendly dogs and cat and extremely comfortable rooms with braai facilities on the patio for those who don't want to eat out in the many good restaurants in Plettenberg Bay. You won't go wrong with a night or two here.

Room Tip: Rooms are the same but 1 and 2 probably have a better view of the river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review - every bit as good as proper scones & proper clotted cream!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've just returned from a marvellous trip to South Africa, part of which was a 3 day stay at the Bitou River Lodge. It was our favourite destination! A great location being just outside Plettenberg Bay - near enough for all of the many 'things to do' & far enough to be engulfed in the peace & tranquility of the riverside guest house. Sue & Paul are perfect hosts, the breakfasts are amazing and the rooms large & comfortable. The only negative (& I'm nit-picking) is that the bathrooms look a little frayed at the edges - could do with a freshen -up. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Plett.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Big thank you for a wonderful review! Hope we'll see you here again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
6.6 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Property: Bitou River Lodge
Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed. Explore the wetlands by canoe. Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches. Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality at this Provencal-style guest house. Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing