We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceded all expectations”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceded all expectations”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

A fantastic situation ideally placed along Garden Route for all attractions. Clean, light comfortable rooms in a stunning setting. Quiet but not far from Plet and amenities. Canoe along the river for fantastic birds and scenery. Sue was the perfect host. We have been to SA twice before from UK and this was the best Guest house yet. (Beds most comfortable anywhere). Will come back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Big thank you for the awesome review!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
132
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grezels, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Before writing this I reviewed the other reviews and find so many common themes, "Sue", " Sue's breakfasts" "the river" "the rooms" "Zonzi taking you for a walk" and everything else that I am almost at a loss to know what to add - but I truly believe that Bitou River Lodge is The Best,

Enough said? Well not quite . . . .

The contrast between Plett itself - Plett with its boutiques, restaurants and tourist bustle is so near that you can be there in ten minutes by car, yet here you have, beside the river, absolute calm, peace, security and every smallest detail for your comfort unobtrusively catered for makes it The Best combination.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect, without exception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
Sue :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were barely at Bitou River Lodge five minutes when my husband said, "That's it. I can happily just stay here for the rest of the trip (This, after five days in/near Cape Town and with a week in/near Kruger and then on to Victoria Falls to follow). The rooms are airy and bright, with views out to the riverbank. For those who want activity, Sue will happily suggest options (one of which, a morning walk on Keurboomstrand to enjoy the beautiful beach and rock formations, was outstanding). Otherwise, you can just relax in a hammock or take a dip in the pool. Do not neglect to take out one of the canoes at least once during your visit. The river is filled with water lilies and makes for an enchanting paddle (FYI--the paddles are kayak paddles rather than single blade canoe paddles). The lodge was well-located, allowing us to visit the Robberg Nature Reserve (in Plettenberg Bay) and Knysna during our stay. Sue was ever gracious, and packed breakfast for us on our last morning, when we needed to make the drive to Port Elizabeth to catch an afternoon flight to Jo'berg. She even helped us plan a stop at Storms River mouth (which we didn't want to miss) on the way.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atastefortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thanks for a wonderful review - hope we'll see you back here sometime! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Bitou River Lodge is a beautiful idyllic retreat and only 5 mins drive from Plett . The rooms are large and spacious and light (all 5 rooms the same ) with vaulted ceilings and have everything you need to make your stay perfect. What makes this place so special is Sue’s attention to detail , from fresh milk in the fridge , honesty bar in lounge, tea and homemade biscuits on arrival , insect repellent in the cupboards, BBQ, umbrellas etc etc .. the list is endless . Also , there is a pool discretely tucked away to the side of the building surrounded by shrubs ,along with loungers and double hammock - a great place to relax, read and have a glass of wine!
We took one of Sue’s canoes out onto the river for a couple of hours and it was a fantastic experience. The bird song , the scenery , the peace – everything was perfect….until I soaked my husband and nearly whacked him over the head with my paddle when we suddenly came across a herd of cattle drinking in the river . Such fun- a memorable experience!
Had a tasty relaxing meal with stunning views over the sea at The Lookout. The mussels in curry sauce were succulent and delicious . Also go to Storms River and walk across the wobbly bridge – a great day out.

We will definitely return- thanks Sue

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same but we were in the end room which gave us a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thanks for the awesome review! :-) Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We occupied two rooms for one night between Christmas and New Year in 2011. Now we want to go back for a looong holiday - we were so impressed by EVERYTHING!!! The attention to detail in the stunning suites are the best we have seen! The breakfast was superb. Best fresh scones on this planet - serious! The service was simply awesome. We can honestly not give enough praise. What a magnificent setting - wish we can get back there soon. My advice to would-be and wanna-be guest house operators - go and learn from the folks at Bitou River Lodge.

Room Tip: They are all good, but we had the two at the far end nearest to the pool and had extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thanks for the great review on tripadvisor, much appreciated ! :) Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed with Sue for three nights in october. The place is great, large and quiet. The rooms are spacious and have everything you might need, including a nice terrace from which you have a good view of the beautiful gardens and the river with lots of birds. The service and the breakfasts provided by Sue are great. You need your car to get to a restaurant, but it's only a short ride and the location of the guesthouse is well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thanks so much for the great review! :)
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Sue provided a warm and friendly welcome for our two day stay here, and provided us with some valued information concerning the surrounding area. The self catering accommodation was warm (underfloor heating), comfortable and spacious with views over the peaceful garden and river. Birdwatching was good and the free use of a canoe proved to be an interesting experience. The breakfasts were excellent and included Sue's homemade muffins. Recommended for relaxation and sight seeing - nearby Nature's Valley is well worth a visit.
Andrew & Jackie Terrett, Bath England

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thanks for an awesome review!
:)
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Property: Bitou River Lodge
Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed... Explore the wetlands by canoe... Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches... Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality... Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing