We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Emily Moon

Emily Moon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa .
Hermanus
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

An excellent restaurant with really good food. Nice view across the river. Good wine cellar. Only criticism was no vegetarian option on the menu, but check that they may be able to do one anyway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    180
    76
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy atmoshperic meals”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of our most favourite restaurants will always be Emily Moon in Plettenberg Bay.
Whether it is pouring with rain or a beautiful summer evening, we always try to get a seating at Emily's!
Good food, service good atmosphere and one of the most beautiful settings!
Good for romantic dining but good for sharing with friends too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarienvDeventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best kept secret!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We celebrated my hubbies birthday at Emily Moon last year. A friend told me about the restaurant as we were going to Plett for a time-share weekend. We booked for lunch the Sunday afternoon, as a last treat on our way back to Port Elizabeth.What a lovely surprise! Everything just blew us away! The food was excellent, the decor was stunning!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Cosy colonial restaurant but disappointing food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had dinner in June 2013. We have stayed at Emily Moon several times and had dinner many times before and always go back for the experience and good food. We did not enjoy our dinner this time as much as the previous times. We were seated right at the back of the restaurant and it seemed that they forgot about us. The starters was not nice at all, I had the butternut soup, it was flavoured with curry and to thick and I could not taste the butternut. My wife had the fishcakes that was over flavoured. The lamb chops was nice, but a bit over grilled/charcoaled to our taste. We did not complain and we decided not to have desert and coffee. Disappointing dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caldwell, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good food, wonderful view.....the whole package that makes travel fun and rewarding. Food selection was adequate, but the real highlight was the perfect preparation and presentation.
We eat out for fun...everything about Emily's was perfect !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJGUMPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily Moon also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Emily Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing