We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Emily Moon

Emily Moon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa .
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a very special place, so charming, unique and good food and service! My husband cannot stop talking about the fab mediterranean seafood hotspot - in fact he had it for starters and mains! Well done!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lodgemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    179
    75
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Me my hubby and my kids wore on our way back to P.E. after a lovely weekend in Plet, when we decided to go and have some lunch at this place called Emily Moon which came very recommended by the guest house we stayed in, let me tell you…..what a lovely surprise!!! it was a little difficult finding them , if you don’t know what to look for you will probably drive past them(we did!) but the bean so tucked in to nature and away from traffic and all is what make it really special!! We had a lovely lunch, the kids loved the ethnic surrounding, me and my husband enjoyed the view and the retro music in the back ground, our meal was testy and cooked to perfection, the staff was friendly and very well trained , definitely a 10 out of 10 for them!! Weldon to you!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arietta v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

ONe feels as though you are stepping into another world as you enter. Magnificent as the sun sets over the Bitou River. Excellent food and service. Good choice of wines. Recommended for special occasions as Emily Moon is very pricey.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llevieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over the Moon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was treated to a birthday dinner at this magical venue. We went around the day before to make a booking in person and were enchanted by this venue in the daylight. High on the hill overlooking the valley it is blessed with a magnificent setting.

We were greeted enthusiastically by the staff on duty and made our booking immediately although we were considering other choices.

On arriving the following evening, we were even more impressed. The setting is beautifully done and the food and service were great. Our waitress Roxy was clearly suffering from job satisfaction and looked after us well. Hands on management was evident and the evening was perfect. This one will be one of our favorites.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-YCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a magical setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

A varied menu and a wonderful setting. As a lodge guest our guaranteed seating was a boon at this highly popular restaurant

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily Moon also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Emily Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing