We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishonorable Do NOT reserve here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boheme B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Boheme B&B
Ranked #65 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dishonorable Do NOT reserve here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room here, and within about a week, we cancelled the reservation. When we booked on Vernere.com, it was stated there was no fee for cancellation. We were surprised to see a charge on our credit card for one night. I have written the owner twice asking that the charge be recredited, as there was about 3 months before we would be staying there, had we kept the reservation. I have yet to hear from the innkeeper, so we will follow up with the credit card company, and Venere, as well. W

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyOLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed there one night on our way to Cape town. Orginally we had booked two nights but we were held up and I had to cancel one night. I called the manager who said it would not be a problem but when we got there we had to pay for two nights anyway. It was this kind of dishonesty I did not like at all.
But apart from that there were also some problems with the accomodation itself. Our room had a door to the office that was not locked, so we did not feel very safe. There was hot water for only about five minutes.
But what really shocked us was the apartheid atmosphrere that pervaded the place, the service staff all dressed up rather historical and all very submissive...
Africa has a lot to offer but not in this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plettenberg Bay hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

La Boheme was a pleasantly pleasing 4* B&B in Plettenburg Bay which was competitively priced and pleasing accommodation. Excellent breakfast and Chris the owner wa very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Beautiful honeymoon room with big jacuzzi bath. You needed binoculars for the seaview, so don't book this room for the view! Delicious breakfast and very comfortable kingsize bed. Brilliant restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a couple of nights while travelling along the garden route. We loved everything about La Boheme and it was our two favourite of the 13 hotels we stayed in (Pumba game reserve being the other).

Chris who runs the B&B couldn't have done more for us and he made us feel totally at home. He even made my dreams come true by arranging the tv so me and my friend could watch a film while sittng in the hot tub!

Our room was lovely and the breakfast was brilliant. We felt very safe there and went out for a night on the town down the road in Plettenburg which was good. If we go back to South Africa again we will definitely look Chris up and stay for a bit longer than we could this time round :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bargainhoteltastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Lots of aspects are nice. But there are a few problems why I would not want to come back.
When getting out of the car you are greeted by an old very friendly but sick looking dog. He will cover your pants with saliva. Watch out.
No help with luggage, no explanation of the room, unprofessional check in.
The room has a strange layout. Big bathtub and toilet inside the main room. No privacy for the toilet. No chair in the room, no place to write. No empty power outlet for a PC, furniture etc significantly past it's prime

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We recently stayed here during the World Cup while passing through the beautiful town of Plett. Our hosts were very welcoming, even coming to pick us up from where the bus dropped us and also dropping us in town when we went out for the evening.

Very nice breakfast with plenty of options. Our hosts were also able to arrange various activities should you wish to do things while in Plett.

Very comfortable beds. Approx 10 minute walk into the centre of town to the variety of excellent restaurants. Further 5 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Weldon House
Weldon House
#69 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#50 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bliss on Beacon Isle
Bliss on Beacon Isle
#29 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emitem Guest House
Emitem Guest House
#64 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Hannas Bed & Breakfast
O'Hannas Bed & Breakfast
#75 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whaling Station B&B
The Whaling Station B&B
#73 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boheme B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boheme B&B

Property: La Boheme B&B
Address: 1 Typhoon Terrace, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Boheme B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast is a uniquely affordable 4-star accredited guest house in Plettenberg Bay. Cottage interiors with classic beach-house decor are complimented with a rustic touch, home-style amenities, and luxury facilities. The guesthouse is situated one minute drive from both Plett’s Main Street and the Market Square shopping areas and two minutes from the whale-watching operators at Main Beach and the 4-kilometeres of golden sand that is Robberg Beach. A dip in the plunge pool followed by a Jacuzzi (bubbly in hand) affords the perfect interlude between a day at the beach and supper at one of Plett’s many restaurants. If ‘dining in’ is your pleasure, a covered Verandah with Braai (barbecue) facilities is available for a traditional South African holiday feast. Your host, local Chris Myburgh, beats any guidebook for pointing you to the best beaches and attractions that Plettenberg Bay has to offer. La Boheme offers a lounge with fireplace for chillier evenings. Full Continental and English breakfasts are served. Free Internet. Babysitting and airport transfers can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your La Boheme B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing