We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
“Brilliant location and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

So friendly, it was like being home.
The walls were a bit thin so you could hear a little bit about the neighbours but it wasn't a problem. We had pizzas and a potjke curry that was amazing!
Definitely a place to stay in Plettenberg bay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Leila

Thank you for your review.

I notice that you were in our Outeniqua room for one night and in our Montagu room the other. Which room was it that you had the 'sound' problem? The house is built with standard brick walls as with most houses in South Africa and I must admit I have not heard of this problem previously - that does not say that others have not experienced the same though!

If it was in Outeniqua it may be because the bed in the adjoining room has the headboard against the same wall - something I will certainly look at and see if we can move one of the beds in either Outeniqua or that room. Is the reason for the lower rating you gave for sleep quality or was there some other problem you experienced?

I appreciate this sort of feedback because it highlights something that may be a general problem which none of us at Amakaya have been aware of.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again some time in the future.

Regards

Dave Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
49
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hostel was a highlight of my recent trip to South Africa. Terry and Gerhard made me and my Daughter and her boyfriend feel right at home. We enjoyed a braii in the Pub and had fun staying up half the night getting to know the locals and guests. The location is perfect, and I can't get the views out of my mind. I wish I would have stayed a week instead of one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Tamara

Thanks for your kind words. It is always gratifying when someone really enjoys their time with us and in Plett.

We hope that the rest of your time in SA was enjoyable and wish you good fortune with your travels.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despatch
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thank you, Dave, Terry and Gerhard for your hospitality and excellent service while we attended the Whale Rally. An unforgettable weekend! Keep up the good service. We'll be back next year!

Charl and all his biker friends and biker family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Charl

Thanks for the review and glad that you guys 'n gals had a great time.

See you next year - remember to book early!

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurenborg, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

When I was there, It was very quiet, but it didn't really matter because the hosts were really outstanding. They made me food every night and took me for a walk on the beach with the dog. After that we went for a nice cup of coffee. I'd love to be there on season one time, to get the full experience of how this amazing place could be aswell. A lot of respect for this backpackers, I'll never forget. Big thanks to Terry, Gerhardt and last but not least Skyetjie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Amber

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Pity that you caught us on one of the rare quiet nights. Have been somewhat busy in June as you can see from recent reviews.

Please help us improve our service for future guests with respect to value, sleep quality and rooms which you gave a lower rating than your other selections.

Thanks and regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

It really felt like home. Very friendly staff. Excellent worth for you're money. Very clean and neat. Walking distance from town centre. There are braai fascilities for summer and winter time. So you can have a braai anytime of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Simone

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Gerhard and Terry made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy, off street secure parking gave peace of mind and access to the heart of town and the beaches was super quick and easy. The guys and gals were helpful regs activities and maps etc...
Enjoyed some time at the bar, longer than planned ;-) and met some other very cool travellers.
Bonus, watching sunrise with a cup of coffee from the terrace. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Brett

Thanks for the review of your stay and glad to hear that you had a good time.

The challenge for your next visit is to stay up and watch the sunrise.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights and loved it so much we booked an extra two nights to stay!!! We had an amazing experience, Gerhandt and skye took great care of us, the nights were the best sat round the camp fire chilling and eating! They organized all our activities for us which made everything so easy. We are definitely going to be coming back here, purely for the greats nights with Gerhandt and Skye keeping us company and making our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Matthew

Glad to hear that you both had such a good time in Plett.

Thanks for staying with us.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#19 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#10 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#50 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#24 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#8 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Property: Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, your 'home away from home.' We will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and help you with as much information as we can about the local activities and attractions. Exchange experiences with fellow travellers and keep in touch with family and friends. Enjoy a complimentary wi-fi and internet facilities,coffee and tea at both Amakaya Backpackers and Amakaya Backpacker Apartments. Amakaya Backpackers is not perfect, however is a clean, friendly and homely place where you can relax after an exhilarating day in the area. We have hot showers (electric and gas), relaxed atmosphere and comfortable beds. Sip on a drink at our upstairs bar while you relax on the veranda and take in the view of the Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the sea. We are a 300m walk to the shops, restaurants and bars of Plettenberg Bay's Main Street and 800m from the popular Central Beach (beware of the steep uphill walk back that will certainly build up an appetite and thirst!). For the 'private' traveller or those who want some 'me' time, our range of double and twin private rooms (each with its own TV) and 2 sleeper private dorm is just what you need. For those who do not mind sharing we have a selection of standard and en-suite dorms that sleep 2, 4, 6 and 8 guests respectively. All guests have the use of our fully-equipped kitchen facilities, free tea & coffee, wi-fi, a sitting room to read or watch TV/DVDs and an upstairs bar with outside balcony. Parking is on the premises and is accessed by an electric gate. Amakaya Backpacker Apartments - situated 200m from Amakaya Backpackers and 100m from Main Street. Each apartment has its own entrance, kitchen, bathroom, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing