We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place for a night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Super place for a night's sleep”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were driving on our way to Cape Town, and needed a place to sleep on the way. Made a last minute reservation, and luckily got a priviate double room at this excellenct lodge. We got a very warm welcome by Gerhart, who was always there to help, and had excellent tips for places to eat. The place was very nice and clean, and we had a secure place to park our car. There was a friendly atmosphere and a nice bar to hang out in. A place I would easily recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anderleysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    64
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
50
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised that our first choice for lodging turned out to be so comfortable. Overall a solid experience. Secure parking for vehicles, clean bathrooms and kitchen. Nice common spaces and communal activities in the evening. Gerhart was a great host and went above and beyond to make sure our activities for the next day was set up. Got quiet around 11 so no problems with noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

On arriving at the easy to find and perfectly situated amakaya we were greeted immediately by Terry and given a homely welcome and tour of the building. He even gave us the last en suite room! Chelle's was loving the balcony with the legendary view of plett. Drinks from the bar and recommendations of where to eat as well as discount vouchers to the best restaurant in town! After an awesome dinner at LM on the Main Street we had the absolute pleasure of a long sit down and chat with, as he calls himself, the night man(Gerhardt)aka papa G. He was a breathe of fresh air and had the most incredible dog, Sky, who added the homely touch a South African backpackers could have! Due to his warm hospitality we have decided to change our trip just so we can stay there again. Well done Pappa G!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete Fox L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great location with very friendly staff who did their utmost to make me feel welcome. The hostel had a comfortable dorm with its own fridge and a good bar with a stunning view, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Bryan

Thanks for the flattering review.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Amakaya backpackers was a great place to stay whilst in plettenberg bay. The staff were extremely helpful in organizing activities to do during the day and gerhardt definitely created fun for the night with a braii in the bar during our stay. Overall a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Naomi

Glad to hear that you had fun during your stay with us and that you got to do some interesting activities in the area.

Thanks taking the time to do a review of your stay.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My friend and I came to Plett for a relaxed, inexpensive weekend away.
We stayed at Amakaya for 2 nights and found it to be comfortable, clean and friendly. The rating I want to give is 'Good' rating, but unfortunately that is not an option in the "RATE THIS HOTEL" section.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cuan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Cuan

Glad to hear that the two of you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for the review.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had an all round good experience. Friendly Host, Thanx Dave. Clean rooms. a very homely experience. Close to town and shops. well organised in terms of rules to accommodate everyone staying at the backpackers

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks Lesley

Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#12 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#55 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
153 reviews
7.4 mi away
Masescha Country Estate
Masescha Country Estate
#25 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Property: Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, your 'home away from home.' We will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and help you with as much information as we can about the local activities and attractions. Exchange experiences with fellow travellers and keep in touch with family and friends. Enjoy a complimentary wi-fi and internet facilities,coffee and tea at both Amakaya Backpackers and Amakaya Backpacker Apartments. Amakaya Backpackers is not perfect, however is a clean, friendly and homely place where you can relax after an exhilarating day in the area. We have hot showers (electric and gas), relaxed atmosphere and comfortable beds. Sip on a drink at our upstairs bar while you relax on the veranda and take in the view of the Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the sea. We are a 300m walk to the shops, restaurants and bars of Plettenberg Bay's Main Street and 800m from the popular Central Beach (beware of the steep uphill walk back that will certainly build up an appetite and thirst!). For the 'private' traveller or those who want some 'me' time, our range of double and twin private rooms (each with its own TV) and 2 sleeper private dorm is just what you need. For those who do not mind sharing we have a selection of standard and en-suite dorms that sleep 2, 4, 6 and 8 guests respectively. All guests have the use of our fully-equipped kitchen facilities, free tea & coffee, wi-fi, a sitting room to read or watch TV/DVDs and an upstairs bar with outside balcony. Parking is on the premises and is accessed by an electric gate. Amakaya Backpacker Apartments - situated 200m from Amakaya Backpackers and 100m from Main Street. Each apartment has its own entrance, kitchen, bathroom, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing