We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to sleep in a kitchen? If so stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed in a dorm, bed was in the kitchen. Kettle woke me up at 6 am, as other guests made themselves a cup of tea. This is a joke of a hostel - not clean, shower was cold and had no lock. Unless you want to make your dinner and make a cup of tea from your bed - don't stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hello Jack

It took some time trace where you stayed and when as you were not clear with this in your review. My initial replies assumed that you slept in our Baviaans Private dorm inside the house as this dorm is next to the kitchen. The review surprised me as we have never had an issue with disturbances from the kitchen next to this dorm.

However I have now managed to determine that you in fact stayed in our Tradouw dorm that has an open plan kitchenette.

I now find your comments to be totally unwarranted to slate the hostel for an experience in a dorm - which is what you have actually done - and I very much doubt that you will publicly admit this on Tripadvisor - I am in the process of trying to get this response made public for other travellers to see.

You shared the dorm with 9 hikers from a hiking club that were staying in the same dorm that night. They in fact commented on how clean the dorm and whole hostel was which is in fact in contradiction to your comments - they in fact stayed in another hostel in Plettenberg Bay the previous evening and said that the standard and cleanliness at Amakaya was top notch compared to their experience the night before.

Based on this I find your review to be totally inappropriate and unwarranted in slating the whole hostel because of your experience in a dorm. You never mentioned that this dorm is in fact separate from the main house at all and leave a totally incorrect impression of Amakaya Backpackers!

Regards

Dave Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

As Backpackers in South Africa go I would rate this as better than most. Two issues a water heater alarm going off outside our room 4 or 5 times and also our room being above the braai area making it smokey!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hello Guy

Thanks for taking the time to do a review.

The alarm was for the heat pump that controls the hot water and it has now being sorted out so should no longer be a disturbance to guests. The night manager has also been shown how to solve this problem should it occur in the future.

The braai is a bit more difficult to resolve. We do however encourage guests to use our other braai area in the bar as a first option instead of using the downstairs one which can be a problem if the wind is in the wrong direction.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Regards

Dave Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the Homtini double room for three nights and felt right at home. The former house has everything we needed and the staff were friendly and helpful. The veranda on the second floor provides a nice view of the bay and is a good place to eat and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had a great time last year at amakaya.
very friendly staff and every night beers and a cozy fire.
one of the best places I stayed in South Africa.
I mean, friendly staff, nice other people I met at the backpackers and the guy who's workin' over there had great stories to tell.

all felt very friendly and it was also possible to arrange a good price.
quite a walk to the center, but it's worth it.
also a Baz Bus stop, so there will always arrive new people.
Gerhardt: keep the good work up!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirreous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We are from Durban and initially we came to Plett for 2 weeks and ended up staying 4 weeks- accommodation is although a problem with the rising costs of inflation – My husband and his working colleagues – we found Amakhaya Backpackers as we drove through Plett – Being sceptical about backpackers we booked in for 2 weeks but the job took longer and we had to stay 3 weeks. We were highly impressed with Amakhaya – The homely atmosphere and the owner Dave and his staff was absolutely amazing. I can truly say it’s the best place – its like being at home- Clean, helpful and affordable. IT was an awesome place to stay. Thank you so much for everything Dave.

Bev and Lawrence Naidoo

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev and Law N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were three days in the city and stayed at AMAKAYA. The place itself excellent, rooms and bathrooms are very clean, large kitchen fully equipped, there is place to baraai and the highlight of the place is the owner of the place!
Dave charming guy, who likes to help, he traveled a lot in the country and knows a lot about the placesthat we would not necessarily reach them by Lonely Planet. he continued to be in contact with us to give us tips even after we left.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shany2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hello Shany

Thank you for your flattering review!

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Plettenberg Bay.

When you get a chance please upload some pics of your shark dive - either on Tripadvisor or our facebook page.

Hope that your stay in Cape Town was good and that you travel safely.

Regards

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

As soon as me and my girlfriend got here we knew we'd picked a good hostel. Charles was extremely welcoming and made us feel at home. The hostel itself has a real homely feel to it and there is a variety of seating areas, including an outdoor bar, indoor bar and living room space. Kitchen is nice and clean and showers were hot! All staff were superb in arranging trips for us, in particular Dave, who ferried me there and back to Bloukrans bungee (a must by the way)!! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_ryan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hello Paul

Thank you taking the trouble to do a review of your stay with us.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the bungy.

Why not upload a picture or 2 of your bungy jump?

Regards

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#15 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
257 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandalay Guest House
Mandalay Guest House
#22 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $21 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, your 'home away from home.' Amakaya Backpackers is not perfect, however is a clean, friendly, homely place with hot showers (electric and gas), relaxed atmosphere and comfortable beds. Only a 300m walk to the shops, restaurants and bars Main Street and 800m from the popular Central Beach (beware of the steep uphill walk back that will certainly build up an appetite and thirst!). For the 'private' traveller or those who want some 'me' time, our range of double and twin private rooms (each with its own TV and hospitiality fridge) and 2 sleeper private dorm is just what you need. For those who do not mind sharing we have a selection of standard and en-suite dorms that sleep 2, 4, and 8 guests respectively. Our Backpacker Apartments is situated 200m away near the transport hub of Plett. Stay in a private or one of our dorm apartments. Each apartment has a kitchen, bathroom, satellite TV and wi-fi. Only 100m from Main Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing