We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral Tree Cottages
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My son and I had the most fantastic time at Coral Tree Cottages. It is so peaceful and relaxing being there. Kynsna and Plett is around the corner....with adventure land on your doorstep. Would go there anytime! My son and I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Only clothes are needed....well fitted cottage.

Very private, spacious...private swimming pool is a bonus for the kids.

Exceeded our expectations and the Waterpark access made it all worth it.

Close the Plett and Knysna

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Botha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathcart, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

As a new family, we had to choose a spot that was geared for children, but also could offer us a comfortable place where we could watch movies. The Coral Tree Cottages where perfect. With the added bonus of being able to take our child to adventure land (water park) it gave us another option of what to do on our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay here - wish it could have been longer. Our 4 boys were able to play in the play area which we could see from our cottage. We also had a pool which they loved. We took advantage of the free entrance to the water park next door. Again, the boys loved it! The cottages were lovely and clean and the beds were very comfortable with lovely cotton linen. The owners were so nice and helpful and made our stay even more special - thank you! Good location for both Knysna and Plettenberg Bay. Would recommend this for a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The cottages look very nice but are a bit dated in facilities terms - the shower is a 70s lead from the taps with nowhere to hang it from, so you need to kneel to have a shower and water gets everywhere are there is no shower curtain. Staff are very helpful and polite and there is plenty of space around the huts for children to play - though there is a pool and a pond which have nothing on them to keep children safe. You are supplied with a tiny bottle of washing up liquid, akin to the size of half a cigar, and this is the general theme for any type of cleaning equipment - so bring your own. Equally no condiments. Bins are emptied daily, and towels exchanged if left in the bath. Beware these are thatched cottages thus prone to cracks and gaps through which things do enter! There is minimal noise isolation too because of the thatch. Situated about 10km from Plettenberg Bay, and a bit further from knysna, there are plenty of day attractions within an easy drive. However, other than a petrol station about 1/2 a mile away, there is nowhere to by food or anything much unless you drive into Plettenberg Bay - beware all the shops seem to shut down around 1700 - plan ahead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a great stay at Coraltree, the cottage was very neat and spotless. I loved that there is an area for the children just opposite the cottages, my son could play safely. Overall we had a wonderful stay! Definitely will return again:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brittany I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The only tip I would add is to worn people it is a bit hectic for small kids, while we were there 2 kids under 5 were rushed off for stitches. The actual accomadation was awesome and we will definitely be back when the kids are a little older. Wagtail is a wonderful setup and you feel like you are away from everyone. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leigh-ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#24 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Cottages

Property: Coral Tree Cottages
Address: 2 On N | 12km from Plettenberg Bay towards Knysna, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourism Graded, 4 Star Accommodation at Coral Tree Cottages offers you a home away from home to explore the delights of the Garden Route. Centrally situated along the Garden Route between Plettenberg Bay and Knysna, just 3km from Garden of Eden, Coral Tree Cottages makes the ideal base for exploring the Garden Route. Within easy reach are the famous Cango Caves, Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve and many world class golf courses including the luxurious Pezula Resort Hotel. No matter what time of the year you wish to visit, Plettenberg Bay offers many attractions. Visit Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Knysna Elephant Park, view whales and dolphins, go on a game safari, cycle through the indigenous forests or hike the many exciting trails Plettenberg Bay has to offer. The accommodation at Coral Tree Cottages consists of three spacious single bedroom and three 2 bedroom thatched cottages. Although the cottages are self-catering, bed and breakfast is available. They are also serviced daily. Coral Tree Cottages boasts it's own water park on the 24 hectare property known as Adventure Land, catering for the daredevil and the children. Within Adventure Land there is a play park with swings, trampolines, jungle gym and lots more. If that's not enough then take a quad bike ride on an exciting and scenic 3.5 km route through our forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Tree Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing