We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Halcyon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halcyon House
Ranked #49 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Get the Kingfisher Suite. Beautiful room with terrace overlooking the sea. The gracious hosts will serve you drinks when you arrive and at 7 pm with the other guests. The house is beautiful with a pretty patio and pool where a wonderful breakfast is served. The hostesses could not be more gracious and our stay was wonderful throughout.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Judy and Caroline were wonderful hosts.
The garage was opened for us to drive right on in
I'd hurt my back and we had great help to get out suitcases to the room
The room was pacious, beautifully presented with a very comfortable bed. Theview from the bed and balcony across Pettenberg Bay was stunning.
We were offered a drink and great converstion before dinner. And the restaurant recommended by our hosts (Nguni ) was great.
Breakfast was excellent.
Thanks Judy we know where we'll be staying next time we're in Plettenberg Bay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossStep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the beautiful Halcyon House where we received wonderful warm hospitality. The bedrooms and bathrooms were of a very high standard, the views amazing, the breakfasts scrumptious, and the hosts Caroline and Judy truly delightful, with their attention to detail covering range of porridges, where to visit, a library of books and DVDs, advice on where to visit, and much more. We would highly recommend as the place to stay in Plett.!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBritsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2010

What a find! Halcyon House is luxury and hospitality personified. From the minute we arrived to home-baked scones and tea (on the house), to the nightly tray of chocolates and liqueurs, to the gourmet breakfasts provided by Caroline, we felt thoroughly pampered. The Nautilus room was fabulous too with underfloor heating, a most comfortable bed and high-quality linen. In short, no detail was spared to ensure an unforgettable experience. We would never stay anywhere else in Plett. Bravo Judy and Caroline on a top-class establishment!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We had a lovely stay and had the best breakfasts of all the guesthouses in which we stayed in SA. Caroline is a very lovely lady and was the perfect hostess. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHHertfprdshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

This 6 night stay was the highlight of our trip of a lifetime to South Africa. The first three night we were in the Naughtilus suite and the second three we were upgraded to the Kingfisher. The Kingfisher would be able to hold its own and mostly beat with 5 star hotel accommodation. Judy and her two helpers spared no effort to look after us. The breakfasts and service were superb. We borrowed buggy boards from Judy and tried body sufing on the nearby beach. This was a fun experience.

This place is a must for any trip to the Garden route.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penziononyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

In a nutshell - Clean, safe, cheap for what you recieve. and the service is Excellent One thing to remember - bring a good map as the location is away from the town centre and there are no signs to guide you..

I stayed here for 2 nights in the Kingfisher suite. The suite is huge, and the house is amazing. I'd never seen a single shower with 3 heads before coming here. Apart from all of this, the service was excellent.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fires72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahari Beach House
Bahari Beach House
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scallop Lodge
Scallop Lodge
#37 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whale Rock Guest House
Whale Rock Guest House
#44 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornerway House
Cornerway House
#14 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon House

Property: Halcyon House
Address: 30 Rattray Head Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing