We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halcyon House
Save
You added Halcyon House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 Rattray Head Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved both the house and Plettenberg. We lucked out, in that the owners put us in the Kingfisher suite, which is quite something (decadent bathroom for example), with a great early morning view. Owners were great, Staff were great. As for location, you need a navigation device to find it.

Room Tip: Get the Kingfisher suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I spent only one night at Halcyon House, far too short a stay for such a wonderful venue. Caroline ensured we were well catered for and looked after in her magnificent home. And we emphasise "home". All amenities were excellent. At the time of our stay Plett Bay suffered a power outage but this this did not stop Caroline from preparing an amazing "English" breakfast. We certainly recommend this venue to other travellers with a high expectation of venue, service and hospitality.

Brenda and John

Room Tip: Kingfisher suite has fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255103John_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was lucky enough to spend one night on route to a wedding at halcyon house. The service was phenomenal and I I truly can't wait to go back for a more leisurely stay to spend time in the kingfisher rooms jacuzzi bath or have a lazy breakfast next to the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxygillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in February this year at this lovely family home,and from the start after a long drive from Cape Town we were welcomed very warmly and made to feel at home within minutes of arrival.We stayed in the Nautilus Rooms Suite,very comfortable and quiet with a small balcony from where you had glimpses of the sea which was only a few minutes walk away.Breakfasts every morning were excellent and a very good spread and choice,in a lovely setting alongside a small plunge/swimming pool and the owner Judy and her staff were always around to chat and advise on places to visit etc.
Another nice touch was the coffee and tea(all types of tea),facilities left outside the suite on the landing together with every night glasses and a bottle of liquer of different sorts...all on the house!

During our month in South Africa we stayed in a few guest houses,all very good and booked after looking myself on trip advisor before going,however this one was by far the best and we will hopefully return one day in the future...it advertises as a 4 star,it really should be 5 star as in these ratings.Judy thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterG878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were extremely comfortable in the Kingfisher suite, within earshot of the sea. Our family occupied the other 2 suites on the top floor, allowing us total privacy. The breakfasts were always different with plenty of selection and fresh fruit, served downstairs in the sunny terrace overlooking the pool, or in the elegant open-plan dining room. Judy and Caroline are very hospitable hosts and the other staff were quietly in attendance. Comfortable king-size bed, plenty of cupboards, self-service tea, coffee and biscuits in ante-room, books to read, big, comfortable bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and shower for 2! Within walking distance to the beach and swimming area. We left after a relaxing stay of 4 days and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher suite is unsurpassed for value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RozAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Simply the best guest house I ever stayed in and I stayed in some quite amazing ones in the USA. I was in the Kingfisher Suite. It's huge and luxurous and has a wonderful view. Breakfast was delicious and the selection great with differences from the one day to the other. Also you get a very personal experience. On my first day Caroline would drive me to a country market where I spent an hour before she picked me up on her way back. What a great service! Also the rest of the house is wonderful and very spacious. Don't miss Halcyon House if you travel to Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soeren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and loved it. The room, Kingfisher suite, was wonderful 4 double wardrobes, large bathroom with double showers and fold back doors in the bedroom to give a sea view (just). The people who looked after us could not have been nicer, or more helpful. All though slightly outside Plett, but 2 mins from the beach, taxi to town was only £4 ish so not a problem. Special thanks to Charles for his humour and helpful information on what to do and where to go, also lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher suite is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#4 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Windfall Plett
#53 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scallop Lodge
Scallop Lodge
#37 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahari Beach House
Bahari Beach House
#44 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon House

Property: Halcyon House
Address: 30 Rattray Head Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing