We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views, accommodation and caring hospitality”
Review of Halcyon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halcyon House
Ranked #49 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I spent only one night at Halcyon House, far too short a stay for such a wonderful venue. Caroline ensured we were well catered for and looked after in her magnificent home. And we emphasise "home". All amenities were excellent. At the time of our stay Plett Bay suffered a power outage but this this did not stop Caroline from preparing an amazing "English" breakfast. We certainly recommend this venue to other travellers with a high expectation of venue, service and hospitality.

Brenda and John

Room Tip: Kingfisher suite has fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255103John_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was lucky enough to spend one night on route to a wedding at halcyon house. The service was phenomenal and I I truly can't wait to go back for a more leisurely stay to spend time in the kingfisher rooms jacuzzi bath or have a lazy breakfast next to the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxygillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in February this year at this lovely family home,and from the start after a long drive from Cape Town we were welcomed very warmly and made to feel at home within minutes of arrival.We stayed in the Nautilus Rooms Suite,very comfortable and quiet with a small balcony from where you had glimpses of the sea which was only a few minutes walk away.Breakfasts every morning were excellent and a very good spread and choice,in a lovely setting alongside a small plunge/swimming pool and the owner Judy and her staff were always around to chat and advise on places to visit etc.
Another nice touch was the coffee and tea(all types of tea),facilities left outside the suite on the landing together with every night glasses and a bottle of liquer of different sorts...all on the house!

During our month in South Africa we stayed in a few guest houses,all very good and booked after looking myself on trip advisor before going,however this one was by far the best and we will hopefully return one day in the future...it advertises as a 4 star,it really should be 5 star as in these ratings.Judy thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterG878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were extremely comfortable in the Kingfisher suite, within earshot of the sea. Our family occupied the other 2 suites on the top floor, allowing us total privacy. The breakfasts were always different with plenty of selection and fresh fruit, served downstairs in the sunny terrace overlooking the pool, or in the elegant open-plan dining room. Judy and Caroline are very hospitable hosts and the other staff were quietly in attendance. Comfortable king-size bed, plenty of cupboards, self-service tea, coffee and biscuits in ante-room, books to read, big, comfortable bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and shower for 2! Within walking distance to the beach and swimming area. We left after a relaxing stay of 4 days and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher suite is unsurpassed for value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Simply the best guest house I ever stayed in and I stayed in some quite amazing ones in the USA. I was in the Kingfisher Suite. It's huge and luxurous and has a wonderful view. Breakfast was delicious and the selection great with differences from the one day to the other. Also you get a very personal experience. On my first day Caroline would drive me to a country market where I spent an hour before she picked me up on her way back. What a great service! Also the rest of the house is wonderful and very spacious. Don't miss Halcyon House if you travel to Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soeren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and loved it. The room, Kingfisher suite, was wonderful 4 double wardrobes, large bathroom with double showers and fold back doors in the bedroom to give a sea view (just). The people who looked after us could not have been nicer, or more helpful. All though slightly outside Plett, but 2 mins from the beach, taxi to town was only £4 ish so not a problem. Special thanks to Charles for his humour and helpful information on what to do and where to go, also lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher suite is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Sometimes if you are really lucky you stumble on a real find - Halcyon House is just such a place.

The property is a large private villa just a short stroll from the beach and no more than a five minute drive to Main Streets bars and restaurants.

As good as the accommodation is - and it is very comfortable - it was our hosts Judy and Caroline that helped make our stay so memorable - must add here a special thanks to Gloria and Cleo too.

A great find with probably the best breakfast in SA, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scallop Lodge
Scallop Lodge
#34 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Periwinkle Guest Lodge
Periwinkle Guest Lodge
#9 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon House

Address: 30 Rattray Head Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $31 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing