We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Luxury Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Luxury Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Spent 2 days at Kichaka and had a good game viewing, food and food were top notch.
lodges are privately located with each its own plunge pool with great view of the dam, nice siting at main lodge with swimming pool and massage service.
just 1 hour drive from PE airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
228
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I just wanted to say how fantastic our stay was at Kichaka, the servce was excellent, we could not want for anything we were very spoilt with such attentive friendly staff, the game drives were superb and accommodation wonderful. Such a treat to stay in a beautiful lodge and we would definitely return. I doubt there is a better game lodge anywhere. Strongly recoomended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennycarswell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The five days that I spent at Kichaka Luxury Lodge in South Africa were the most wonderful days of my life. It is a place like no other I have ever seen and I felt I’m living in heaven. The view all around was absolutely spectacular. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was great too. I also took a safari trip with the ranger and I got to see various kinds of beautiful wildlife including zebras, elephants, giraffes, rhinos, lions and many more. This is one vacation that I’ll never be able to forget as long as I’m alive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you arrive until you leave, you will feel this is a 5 star lodge. Amazing food, luxurious accomodation, and 2 great game drives... Not to mention each chalet has its own plunge pool. Harry the hippo checks you out while you have drinks on the deck, and a massage before dinner completes the experience. We saw lion, elephant, rhino all without really trying too hard, on our first drive. Hughly recommended, will definitely be back (again)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for. This was our first of two safari lodges, second was near Kruger, and I wouldn't waste the time going to Kruger after staying here. Let's break it down, on arrive yummy hot chocolate and meeting the amazing Julius. We are showed to our beautiful suite, biggest bummer was the pools weren't not working and it was one reason I booked the lodge. Our first afternoon drive was amazing!! We saw almost everything, even a male elephant almost attacked our safari truck with our amazing guide Ashley and Tubs. Even though we didn't see as much on the other days we saw a lot. Sadly my husband was ill and couldn't enjoy all the drives, but the lodge was great at getting him meds and Julius was amazing at bringing food and drinks, anything we needed. Now plan on gaining weight, before drive snack, then breakfast, then lunch, they high tea and finally dinner. Oy. I am putting this last because i would stay at this lodge again and I want people only to concern this in a small way, in the winter they have ants...we wished they had told us upon check in. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank zoe13mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Kichaka surpassed our expectations from the ease of arrival with amazing welcome, to the outstanding quality of the lodge and rooms, food, wines, staff and then there are the game drives - totally awesome!

We were sorry we were only booked for two nights, although that's my excuse for going back very soon I hope. We arrived just after lunch and after being shown our beautiful chalet with fantastic views of the waterhole and surrounding area we had a delicious tea and then were whisked away our first of three game drives..... Our guides were fantastic, so well informed and relaxing to be with and not just your standard ‘here is an elephant’ line but really interesting stuff. We bounced along and within minutes saw a selection of animals – totally amazing – hippos, waterbuck, warthog, impala the list is endless. We covered a huge area with so much to see we had a very exciting encounter with a young bull elephant in musth - got the adrenalin pumping! We ended the drive watching the giraffes having an early evening snack – and rhino -breathtaking and with the knowledge that we would be off again early the next morning
It is amazing how tired you get just going on a three hour drive - we were ready for drinks and dinner which was one of the most delicious meals we have ever eaten with lovely wine - exhausted, fat and very happy!
Our second drive with our rangers started at 7.30am we were greeted with hot water bottles on the seats - marvellous - the perfect way to keep warm on a drive, although it was the most beautiful sunny day it was very chilly to start with. Our guide spotted tracks quite quickly after leaving the lodge and we were so honoured to be able to sit and watch a cheetah, the guide said he had eaten as he was relaxed and just strolling around viewing his area - quite beautiful. The drive continued with sightings of all sorts including our not to friendly bull elephant!
We then had a lovely relaxing time in the sun at the lodge, with wifi, even in your suite we were able to check up on the outside world followed by a delicious lunch in preparation for the afternoon drive. The food selection whether breakfast, lunch or dinner was always good, something for every taste.
We were not so lucky so quickly this time, but it was as fascinating as ever looking at the warthogs, waterbuck and impala, plus a huge range of birds including a hovering hawk... And then we found the lions, four in total including two teenagers - so close and so stunning - amazing. We stopped for sundowners which was perfect in the fading sun watching the African skies on the return to the Lodge we followed an ardwolf - i'd never even heard of one let alone seen one - so pretty, even cuddly!
Another amazing day - I couldn't believe that my safari experience was nearly over. I thank our rangers and all the staff at Kichaka for an experience of a life time - we will be back to experience it again and maybe even take a guided bush walk.... even closer to nature!

The big 5 in 5 star luxury!

Lucy Hogg

Room Tip: view of the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichaka312557, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review of your visit with us to Kichaka. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to do so. A pride of lion visited the waterhole at the lodge this week which was a truly awe-inpsiring sighting. A bushwalk on your next visit will be a wonderful way to really get close to nature and experience Kichaka at its fullest. We look forward sharing this experience with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Kichaka and once again we were mesmerised by our experience. Kichaka deserves all the hype and wonder reviews they are getting at the moment as they certainly are on top of their game. Keith, the manager is always available to answer any question and no request is too large for him. From the moment you drive through the gates, you feel as if you are entering into a paradise and made to feel like it is your own. Once again the food was astounding and the service outstanding. The level of service is perfect, not too much that it becomes irritating, nor too little that you feel neglected (well done, a very fine balance and very rare). Our game drivers were very entertaining and eventful, thanks to our enthusiastic ranger Ben and our phenomenal tracker, Stem (has eyes in the back of his head...). And we can’t forget David, who was always on hand to ensure our stay at the lodge was nothing short of exemplary. Well done and thanks once again on providing us with an unforgettable weekend experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichaka312557, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
As always it is such an honour to welcome return guests to Kichaka. We are very pleased that you found your recent stay with us as pleasing as your firrst and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It was our pleasure and we look forward to your next stay. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
21.9 mi away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
28.3 mi away
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
10.2 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Property: Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing