We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kichaka amazes as soon as you pass through the gate!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The facilities are amazing, the wildlife awe inspiring and every one of the staff even better still !!!! Just when you think things can get any better they do. The safari drives with a ranger and tracker/spotter were incredible. There wasn't a question they couldn't answer: there wasn't an animal they couldn't find: and their sense of humour was perfectly timed.
The food and wine were equally impressive and the menu quite varied. Excellent presentation ..... All staff were top notch ... all happy to be there, all ready to do whatever was required, all eagre to please, all consumate professionals.
In short, we highly recommend Kichaka to anyone looking for the experience of a lifetime. We hope to return .
We did not use the spa or fitness centre and therefore did not rate them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichaka312557, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you. We appreciate you taking time to comment on your stay at Kichaka. It is so important to us all that you enjoyed your stay. We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your trip and look forward to having you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 354 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Kichaka, the service was fantastic. This is a beautiful lodge loctaed in an isolated position overlooking the wateringhole. From our fantastic suite we could see giraffe and hippo! The safari drives were incredible and our guide Ben was extremley knowledgeable and entertaining! We saw four of the big five (not buffalo) and were very lucky to see the cheeta and her newly born cubs. The food is fantasic, and the house wines very good. On our last evening we were entertained by the staff doing a traditonal african song/dance, a lovely touch. We would certainly recommend Kichaka and we will certainly remember our experience there for many years to come. We hope to return!

Room Tip: All suites are the same and to a very high standard. Try and get one overlooking the wateringhole
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichaka312557, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for chosing Kichaka as one of your honeymoon destinations. We felt honoured to be a part of your celebrations and will be thrilled to host you back at our lodge on one of your anniversaries or vacations. Until then, all the best to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have been very blessed to call traveling to exotic luxurious hotels my job. I've filled passports in search of the perfect blend of luxury, nature and attentive yet unobtrusive service. And, Kichaka is one of the best establishments in my little secret black book! We decided to spend 4 nights here at the end of our honeymoon after returning from the Maldives. What an incredible experience - from the fantastic Julius, who served us meals and jokingly reprimanded my husband for not trying the home-made ice-cream (it WAS delicious!) to Ashley, the ranger, who showed us lions preparing an ambush at night, the intricacies of hyenas marking (ask Ash to explain - the description is rather ...) and who is able to track and find anything! Just an aside, my Louis Vuitton handbag containing my camera with priceless honeymoon shots found it's way off the game-viewing vehicle after a particularly long, bumpy and eventful drive. Ashley and our tracker found it the next morning! The lodges are very spacious - the underfloor heating and sherry at night came in very handy. The fact that there is only 1 TV is bliss - who needs TV when you have 24 hour Animal Planet and Nat Geo happening right around you! As I had my spa treatment, I listened to hippos saying good night - no spa trance music on loop - just the way it should be!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichaka312557, General Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments of your stay at Kichaka. We so enjoyed having you back at our lodge to celebrate your very special occasion. We truly felt honoured. Congratulations to you both and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Kichaka for an amazing unforgettable 4 days 3 nights experience. Staff continuously going out of their way to ensure a great experience for all. The entire experience was extraordinary! The game drives were full of excitement and stories, seeing various animals each trip. a Warm, comfortable lodge waited after the game drives and delicious food !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonemeyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We recently enjoyed a three night stay ( 1st-3rd March 2012 ) and cannot recommend it enough.
The welcome was fantastic and it just got better. The accommodation is first rate and the quality /cleanliness could not be faulted.
The staff could not have been more helpful or attentive.
We were blessed to have Adriaan ( Baby Ranger ) as our safari gude who was incredible, his knowledge and enthusiasm made every safari drive so rewarding.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but try and get a front line room near to the main reception. Some rooms are...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Exceeded our expectations in every way!!!
5 star field guide, acccomodation, food, game viewing and friendly hands on staff!!
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaEnslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

After one night in Port Elizabeth to recuperate from a 24 hr journey we spent 3 days/2nights at Kichaka. From start to finish everything laid on and nothing too much trouble. Fabulous private cabin with plunge infinity pool, loungers, and all the little touches you would get with a 5* hotel. Very relaxing dining area with attentive staff and a relaxing secluded area for a great massage from a delightful girl. Very enjoyable game drives (with sundowners in the evening) in good sturdy jeeps for just 4 passengers which means great viewing. All told a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank searchbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
24.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
52 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,087 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
508 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range: $703 - $985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing