We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Stones Throw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stones Throw
Ranked #4 of 42 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
“home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Room is spacious and tidy,very nicely decorated
kitchen facilitiy filly equiped
great lacotion
great service and friendly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juansnygans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Juan, thank you for your feed-back it is always a pleasure to have you come and stay and you are always welcome and we look forward to many more visits from you (and I hope your wife and son can come too sometime) in the future. Best Eastern Cape Greetings Suzanne and The Team, including Oscar and Tuli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
11
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I recently visited for 5 nights with my younger daughter, while my older child attended the National Schools Festival in Grahamstown.

Plus: Welcoming host and friendly staff (and dogs), beautiful garden setting with fantastic views from the stoep of our log cabin, lovely beds with crisp white linen and electric blankets, fluffy towels, easy and secure parking.

Minus: Not really the best option for an extended self-catering stay (although to be fair, we were warned in advance that the unit only contained a small kitchenette). Also, being a very light sleeper was a bit of an issue, with noisy dogs and roosters in the middle of the night, trucks passing on the R62 just behind the cabin and wooden boards creaking whenever my daughter moved in her bed upstairs. She had no such problems and slept like a log.

We would certainly consider staying here again in the future, but would rather make use of the bed and breakfast option then visit on a self-catering basis.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaH3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Sylvia, A special thank you for your feed-back on your visit to us at A Stone's Throw, I am thrilled about the positives and do value the "minus" feed-back on your stay with us which is invaluable in our endeavours to provide a wonderful warm and spectacular visit to our lovely setting on the hill. We do hope to see you again in the future and it would only be a pleasure to let you have complimentary breakfasts during your visit, served "butlers-style" by Edith and Zoleka with their true Eastern Cape traditional hospitality smiles and charisma. A note that the traffic may have been higher than normal because there was blasting on the N2 route between Port Elizabeth and East London which would have diverted along the R67 to the R72, resulting in more than usual traffic flow through our normally sleepy suburb. Yours in hospitality, Suzanne and A Stone's Throw team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

This is a wonderful place, neat, clean and affordable. Chalets are very well maintained and have well equipped kitchen. We arrived in the evening after whole day of driving in the rain - our chalet had heating on to welcome us, and the owner called a couple of time to check if everything was fine. Chalets are in a lush garden, they are well spaced and there is plenty parking space. Compared to prevous accommodation this was like being in heaven! A bit out of town, but pefrect if you want to relax in a cosy, homely and friendly place.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AM-Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive and informative feed-back on A Stone's Throw. Wow and the rain just hasn't stopped even since January, we have thick mist again this morning - can't even see the mountain in front of the cabin, I am sure in England that's a "peasouper", we always look forward to having our visitors again and hope to hear from you again in the near future. Best Regards Suzanne, and the Team (Zoleka and Edith).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed with Suzanne and her team for nearly two weeks and it was like a home from home. Zoleke and Edith looked after me with that warm South African hospitality I have come to expect. I learned several new Xhosa phrases too. I loved my Rondavel room, my breakfast companions wild or otherwise! Expect sweeping views, Hornbills, Hahdedahs and Sunbirds. I hope I get there again some day.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markymark1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Thanks Mark, happy holidays to you and your family, hope the big UK freeze not affecting anyone too much, gorgeous summer storms in Grahamstown - regards suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Excellent rooms with a beautiful view of a well taken care of garden. Situated in a very neat and quiet neighbourhood. Great and kind service from the staff, what more can one ask for?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thandile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Stone's Throw B&B on our way from Cinsa to Plettenburg, and found it a relaxing, wonderful place to stay. The view from the house overlooks nearby mountains and is beautiful. It is located in Stone Hill, which is a three minute drive just outside Grahamstown. It is by far the most fetching looking B&B that we say in the entire area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

My mom and I travelled from Johannesburg via Durban to Grahamstown along the wild coast. The last time a travelled through this majestic part of our country was when I was still a child on a road trip with my parents and it was this memory of rondawel houses on hilly plains that i yearned to see again. The trip was amazing and A stone's throw proved to be a perfect point to relax and recover from a day of taking in these beautiful sites. We intended to leave early the next day to stop over at Sedgefield before ending out trip in Cape Town. What initially seemed to be an unfortunate experience of leaving my laptop behind at the guest house and only realising this after travelling more than 300km, we returned to the guest house and decided to stay another night. Suzanne was so accommodating and the whole unfortunate experience was a blessing in disguise and we managed to spend a few more hours of bliss at this amazing location. I would recommend staying at this B&B any day.

Lorenzo

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
18.1 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.3 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#2 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.3 mi away
A White House Guest House
A White House Guest House
#3 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 26 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stones Throw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stones Throw

Property: A Stones Throw
Address: 9 Stones Hill, Route 67, Port Alfred Road, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stones Throw 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stone's Throw Accommodation is nestled on the hilltops above Grahamstown. Offering country living "A Stone's Throw" from the University town of Grahamstown, where you can enjoy panoramic vistas and witness gorgeous sunsets from a spacious garden setting which is surrounded by open countryside. A Stone's Throw is situated as an ideal stopover between the Garden Route and KwaZulu Natal, just 2km's off the N2, outside Grahamstown, home to the National Arts Festival and City of Saints and Scholars, a seven minute drive into the city centre of Makana Grahamstown. The beaches of Kenton-on-Sea, Kasouga, and Port Alfred are nearby and the Great Fish River Reserves, Addo Elephant Park and Port Elizabeth are just over one hour away. A Stone's Throw's welcoming ambience ensures you a memorable stay. Wake up to Spectacular views. Enjoy sunsets and watching a variety of indigenous bird life, star-gazing, soaking up the sunshine with a book or taking an energetic hike up to the Toposcope, (This building, erected by the Grahamstown Trust in 1997/98, shows the direction of many towns and sites of this Eastern Cape region). Due to renovations we also have available accommodation option at 30 on Oatlands Road which is centrally situated in the Oak-tree lined suburb of Oatlands. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your A Stones Throw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing