We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shock of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cock House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cock House
Ranked #29 of 42 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shock of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were coming to visit our son in Rhodes Varsity from Cape Town. Did a load of business appointments on the way and was exhausted. Needless to say we were very angry to find this establisment virtually in the 'TOWNSHIP" side of Grahamstown. Very dirty roads and noisy area. The place is located accross from a TAXI RANK! Not only this but having to walk to our rooms past unkemp dirty office block in the middel of the establisment. I was not happy. We asked for a refund but was refussed and arrived early evening so decided to just get the night over and done with. Well, the "passing trade" contunued all night together with taxi's zooming past non stop. It is possitivly the worst place I have ever stayed at in my life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    9
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

AWFUL

I travelled for 3 weeks round South Africa and the Cock House was by far the worst place I stayed. On arrival we were welcomed, I use that word loosely, by the most disinterested staff I've ever met. Grumpily shown where to park and then shown our room with no help with bags. Utterly uninterested in helping in any way and basically within minutes of arrival the staff had totally put us off staying here. We were so unhappy about the staff we located the manager and complained to him. In all fairness he was very pleasant, unlike his staff, and apologised but only asked us to put our complaint in writing nothing else was done to make our stay more rewarding.
The owner and staff should go to Blackhealth Lodge in Cape Town to see how real hospitality is done.

We paid £100 a night for a twin room. Not good value. The room was tired, skirting boards had rot in them, chairs were stained, bath had mould round it. The worst thing however was there wasn't any air conditioning just an utter useless fan that made no difference at all resulting in us feeling as though we were sleeping in an oven.

So to summarise , if you wish a to stay in a place that is overpriced, uncomfortable and unfriendly you've found your place in the Cock House.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grahamstown hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Overnighted here but delighted by massive family rooms with lounge, dining, kitchen, 2 bedrooms. Our bedroom alone had space for a couch and was bigger than most hotel rooms. The old building had been renovated into the apartments with thought and class. Ideal base if you are in Grahamstown or passing through. Remember to bring your kitchen needs as limited supplies on site. Breakfast in the restaurant was generous, varied and the cooked was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

We found this gem of a small hotel, en route along the N2. It's in a lovely old Grahamstown street, with a friendly bar, big comfortable bedrooms around a lovely garden. There are a few rough edges, peeling paint etc, but it really is a charming place for a stop over and has a very good resturant too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Cock House on our way to St Francis Bay. We had read the story of the extensive renovation of the hotel and its charm but were a bit disappointed by it. The building is rather tired and the furniture has seen some better days.
Our room however was airy and light with comfortable beds (equipped with electrical blanket).
The food, which was advertised as the best in town, was rather plain to us and we were not convinced by the breakfast buffet in the morning.
Service however is friendly and helpfull.
Grahamstown itself did not give us the feel we had expected.
A good place perhaps to stay for a night 'on the way to' ... but not longer

  • Liked — the beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2005

Easily the best place to eat in Grahamstown. I haven't stayed there, but the hosts are friendly, and the food is excellent. Local game, decent wines and an intimate little bar make it a good choice.

The location might not be ideal if you're doing business at Rhodes, which is almost the only game in town in Grahamstown, but for dinner it's perfect

Stayed May 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank fnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.2 mi away
11 Worcester on Durban
11 Worcester on Durban
#14 of 42 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#8 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 26 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.3 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#1 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Lodge
Oak Lodge
#9 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock House

Property: The Cock House
Address: 10 Market St, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cock House 4*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing