We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flexible, friendly and fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bucklands Private Game Reserve
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We cannot speak highly enough of the 'family Stewart' team- 2 nights in the extremely luxurious luxury tents followed two previous nights at a more standard 'big five ' resort- because of this the stay was tailored to our needs perfectly- night drive, walking safari, quad bike safari, visit to old frontier fort and fishing on the Big Fish River- and we all caught something! Two ten year olds were accommodated with an ease and friendliness that was natural and welcomed, Iain our ranger and one of the family was fantastically knowledgeable and shared it with all of us generously, including the great night skies and stars- he even offered to give my wife and I a sleep in whilst taking the boys quad biking and fishing but I didn't want to miss out on the quad bikes! Food was excellent and professional, sun downers at the fire with family, fascinating to hear how they have got to where they are - Good luck and well deserved success should be ahead of you- We would all recommend this resort wholeheartedly and will be back! Plenty to do and see.

Room Tip: Tents truly luxurious- as good as any hotel room 5*
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Bucklands Private Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were invited to Bucklands to celebrate a 40th wedding anniversary. What a lovely surprise. We were made to feel so welcome and were very conscious of the fact that the staff pulled out all the stops to make this a very special occasion. We have been to a number of private game reserves (Shamwari, Kwandwe, Samara) and have to say that Bucklands ticked all the right boxes. The word that kept coming to mind was "genuine". Not a big five reserve, but the rhino are right on the doorstep, and the game is plentiful and in magnificent condition. The scenery is spectacular. Part of the lodge is an old British fort which adds such a sense of history to the experience. We felt rather like we "had a farm in Africa".

Thank you to Matthew, Amy and staff.

Room Tip: Room 4 has brilliant views and is nice and private
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the minute we arrived we received friendly service. The food was great and the game drives informative, the rooms lovely. We would definitely return. Thanks Ian for the great food, Yolandi for making the game drives so interesting. Although the aardvark eluded us we will find him next time I am sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucketlist500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Fantastic balance of ecotourism and luxury accommodation in the bush. Staff were excellent and very attentative to all our needs. We will definetely be back!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Elza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great new find in the Eastern Cape. Bucklands accurately reflects the 'vision' of its owners. Three different accommodation options to suit all pockets. Great comfort, excellent hospitality, knowledgeable staff, beautiful surroundings and lots of activities to choose from. A perfect 'bush' destination to combine with a stay along the beautiful Eastern Cape coast. We saw 2 first's during our evening Game drives - an aardwark and a caracal!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanita066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stopped for 4 days and 3 nights at Bucklands Luxury tented camp for an unforgettable escapade in Eastern Cape. Not the big five but a true piece of wilderness adjacent to the beautiful Great Fish River nature reserve. Staff continuously going out of their way to ensure a great experience for us. Amazing landscapes, fauna, flora and food!!! The game drives were full of discoveries with various animals each trip. We had a night trip which was fully amazing it was a little bit cold but we did not care about it they gave us microwave heated cushions and warm blankets. Tarry teached us and we enjoyed very much his knowledges! A Warm, luxury, comfortable camp waited after the game drives for an incredible delicious food prepared by our fabulous cook Amy!!! Divine lemon cake, sweet salami & muffins, memorable steak with chocolate sauce, delicious pickles with cheese, what a great cook is here !!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florindaRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hats off to the Stewart family for making a go of this small reserve! It is a little gem & a great escape from reality. Super food, lovely clean accommodation with crisp linen & all the luxury extras, wonderful art and warm friendliness! The staff are knowledgable and are encouraged by Management to improve their skills. The new walking trail should prove to be great success.
After four great visits we look forward to another stay in the not too distant future.

Brian & Margie Waddington - Port Alfred RSA

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
26.0 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,209 reviews
33.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
354 reviews
17.3 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
18 reviews
17.8 mi away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#6 of 43 in Grahamstown
76 reviews
18.8 mi away
Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucklands Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucklands Private Game Reserve

Address: Postnet Suite # 286 | Private Bag X1672, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range: $234 - $1,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bucklands Private Game Reserve consists of 5500 hectares. It is situated adjacent to the Great Fish River Nature Reserve (totalling approximately 45,000 hectares in extent), and the Great Fish River. The climate is hot in summer and mild in winter, and the hilly topography and dense thickets, interspersed with mosaics of grass and bush, is supportive of a diverse plant and animal life, including rhino, zebra, kudu, giraffe and impala, among many others. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing