We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful South African Game Lodge!”
Review of Ufumene Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ufumene Game Lodge
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful South African Game Lodge!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Ufumene Game Lodge is the perfect place for families and couples. The expansive lodge and resort bring over 800 animals to your doorstep, which includes the resort pool and delightful lodge setting to see the best South Africa has to offer. The rooms are beautiful and 5 star standard and the Hosts bring the adventure of Africa with personalized tours of the outback bushland. The service, food, and fine wine make for a great stay! You must go if your on the Garden Route- make it a destination!!

Room Tip: All the guest rooms are 5 star!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a magical place. The food was outstanding and the Fredericks family were perfect hosts. Nadja took such care of Natalie on horseback. The highlight for me was to see the Sable come for their food. The rooms are luxurious and huge. A visit to uFumene is a real treat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Dear Ingrid, Dear Eric, thank you again for a wonderful stay at U´fumene. I really enjoyed it, especially the wonderful atmosphere with you and the incradible landscape. I was lucky to be at your place, while it was raining two days, so i could see the vegetation growing afterwards. we did great gamedrives, had nice chats, we did some hunting, and i really could relax from the daily routine! thank you and see you soon! paul

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We already stayed at Ufumene twice and it is a little piece of heaven. The main lodge only has three spacious and very tastefully decorated bedrooms which makes it easy to relax and feel at home. The farm has various game animals including giraffes and Sable which one can discover via foot, on horseback or with one of the hosts during a game drive. The hosts Ingrid, Eric & Nadja made as feel at home and spoilt us during our stay - including kiddies entertainment for our 4-year old daughter which included the daily hunt to find the chicken eggs for breakfast. The home cooked food is fantastic, most of the ingredients are fresh from the farm...yummy!
We can really recommend Ufumene and we will be back there soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The perfect place to get away from all the city buzz, totally relaxing. A warm welcome from the Eric and Ingrid (the owners). Great conversations in front of the fireplace, the owners have a wealth of knowledge and experience. We had a wonderful game drive in the morning and saw various animals, Ingrid shared her knowledge regarding the different plants and what happens in different seasons and how the animals adapt to the different conditions. Back at the house we had a walk around to see the different livestock and veggie garden. The food was delicious (best pork belly I have ever tasted), my special request of cupcakes was well executed as well :). The rooms were extraordinary, spacious with great décor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights with two families, including 5 children (ages 6 and under), and we all want to go back, soon! Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms; delicious food; lovely walks and hikes; MTB opportunities; seldom seen Sable Antelope; complete freedom of movement for the children (including twice daily chicken-egg-hunts); and just all 'round relaxing for everyone. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I spent three nights together with my son and cousin (11 and 14) accompanied by Rolf, a professional hunter. We were looking for a professional environment to get some good standard hunting lessons and game experience with good quality accommodation, food and hospitality. It could not get any better. We were welcomed as "old" friends by the family, Eric and Ingrid and Nadja Fredericks. They did not only make us feel at home but also did an excellent job on F&B. We were invited in their home and enjoyed great food, drinks and laughs together.

We stayed in the hunter lodge which is nicely tucked away while the mainhouse offers 4 star accommodation for those who prefer more luxury.

Rolf supported us with the hunting, accompanied by Nadja who is close to become a professional hunter as well and really supported us to make the hunting even more worthwhile.

The farm is just an hour from Port Elisabeth and on the way back we crossed the Addo Elephant parc which makes the drive to and from Ufumene even more scenic.

I reckon Ufumene as a perfect venue, not only for the die hard hunters but also for families and groups who just enjoying outdoor life, quietness, nature, game viewing and just having a good time amongst each other.

As a working farm there is lots of entertainment for kids and a possibility to have awesome horseriding.

I highly recommend at least 2-3 days to enjoy Ufumene and the team!!

Room Tip: The hunters lodge is good value for money. For more luxury go for the mainhouse rooms with beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colourfulmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
15.9 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
110 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
11 Worcester on Durban
11 Worcester on Durban
#11 of 42 in Grahamstown
18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 26 in Grahamstown
21 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufumene Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufumene Game Lodge

Property: Ufumene Game Lodge
Address: Grahamstown, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing