We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grahamstown's Hidden Gem”
Review of Hill Street Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill Street Manor
Ranked #21 of 42 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Kokstad
1 review
“Grahamstown's Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hill Street Manor was very clean with comfortable beds,we had a good nights sleep. The staff were very friendly and willing to help. The next morning we woke up to an amazing breakfast.It is worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
2
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
port elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Amazing accommodation!!
the decor is beautiful, such attention to detail!
Very comfortable and welcoming.
I will only be going to Hill Street manor from now on when I visit Grahamstwon.
The Breakfast was to die for!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What an excellent stay my husband and I had. We had an amazing romantic evening for our honeymoon stay. So much work and effort went to make our stay special. Excellent decor to make our room romantic. I would recommend any newly wed couples to have a stay at Hill Street Manor for their honeymoon.

Room Tip: For your honeymoon stay choose room one and please make sure you book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liezel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

After long trip staff exceptionally welcoming, stunning room everything set out neatly acess to all the facilties explained. Helped with dinner arrangements which was a great help after a long trip. The bed was super comfortable, peaceful sleep. Thoroughly enjoyed their breakfast. Will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After suffering from a poor experience in another establishment in Grahams town at the last minute we were rescued by Gayle from Hill Street Manor who despite being closed made a plan due to our plight and took us in. She was kind and the place was fantastic ! The rooms were great and breakfast in the morning was amazing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at Hill Street Manor off-site self catering unit, in Bedford Street, it was comfortable and had everything we needed. It was close to the main street of town and in my case close to St Andrews College. The parking was secure and I was able to have breakfast at Hill Street Manor. I really enjoyed the experience. The unit had 2 bedrooms and one bathroom but as a family that was like home.

Room Tip: Both rooms were excellant, the one had a queen bed and the other had 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The guest house has everything a business travellor needs. The staff went out of their way to provide me with items I needed, including a ipod charger. I found the guest house peaceful and the beds very comfortable. I normally do not find strange beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Only two rooms have a bath as well as shower. The suite is slightly more expensive but it does have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#2 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#18 of 42 in Grahamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
A White House Guest House
A White House Guest House
#3 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Jenny's Guest House
Jenny's Guest House
#1 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Street Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Street Manor

Property: Hill Street Manor
Address: 49 Hill Street | Grahamstown, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Street Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Street Manor is an elegant and sophisticated guest house for both business travelers and holiday makers,offering all the luxuries one would need.Hill Street Manor offers 9 spacious en-suite rooms, each containing the comforts of A/C, wall heater, fan, desk, plasma TV with hotel-boutique DSTV, electronic safe, mini-bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, off- street parking and wireless internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing