We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Amakhala was recommended by a friend who had also been here on his honeymoon and it lived up to hype.
You get a deluxe tent which really made us feel like we were in the bush on our own, albeit with a top notch shower and bathroom attached as well.
The staff at the Woodbury Tented Camp were world class and provided us with all the food and drink that we wanted which was all of a high standard. All the meals were held round the main table which meant we got to speak to the staff, guides and other guests in a relaxed atmosphere.
On our first night we saw the park’s lions and over the next five safari trips that we went on we were lucky enough to see all of Amakhala’s big animals like one of its cheetahs, rhinos, elephants, giraffe, buffalo, zebra and so forth.
But the guides were what really made it and Debbie and James were excellent, easily finding the best spots, keeping us entertained and sharing their knowledge about the animals - we learnt so much!
A trip down Bushman’s River was especially memorable but our whole stay was something that neither of us will ever forget and was a genuine highlight of our honeymoon in South Africa.
We had read some negative reviews about Amakhala but they seemed to be from people forgetting they are going on safari not a traditional zoo where the animals are caged.
The safari guides do their best but ultimately it is lottery whether the animals show up so the more safaris you go on the better your chances.
Rob and Angela

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Woodbury tented camp was out of the world our tent was great for all the family. Kyle our guide did all if not far more for us to see all the animals and we certainly did. the staff back at the camp could not do more to help and the food was great. seeing an elephant from the front of our tent as we got up for our last morning. many many thanks for making our holiday so memorable

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked a 3 day stay to end our 2 week Cape tour with a safari experience for our family of four.We unfortunately arrived later than expected and anticipated missing our first afternoon game drive.However after managment and staff welcoming us to the camp with drinks and sorting our luggage into the tents the game ranger offered to take us on an evening drive which was half carried out by spotlight in the dark and included witnessing after a patient silent wait a wild cat (Caracelle)Kill of a field hare about 100 yards from us.Quite a start!
The welcome,service,food,drink and amazing views from the lodge were exemplary and the Managment and staff could not do enough for us to ensure our enjoyment and comfort.Home baking and fresh food inclusive of daily specials at breakfast and dinner were a treat.The tents are comfortable and great for the bush experience.The game drives were very successful with many variaties of game,animals and birds and of course all of the big five.Quite exciting attempting to beat an evening electric storm in a Land Rover that certainly let us all know what off road driving was all about.The guides are incredibly dedicated and it is a real add on to the many animal encounters to have so much knowledge on tap.Return to camp after late afternoon drives was to hot towels and hot chocolate laced with Amoretto cream liqueur served up on trays as we stepped from the Land Rover.One of many really nice touches.Being South African winter,outside and inside Log fires awaited our return into camp.
The river cruise was a lovely change with great bird sightings and a very relaxing way to have our mid drive drinks and snacks.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience which We would love to repeat.

Room Tip: Tent no 1 has a great view over the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 3 days @ the tented lodge. Our stay was amazing to say the least. The tents very comfortable and private with everything you need for a bush experience they even have electric blankets! The staff very friendly and helpful nothing was too much. Game drives amazing with our guide Kyle who we can't thank enough!!!
He is so passionate and knowledgeable a real gem ! Our game drives we all hugely successful with sightings of the big 5 AND much more --- hope the baby red hartebeest is doing ok! and the jackal has kept away! Food was great especially Jessie's malva pudding! What more can I say --- we will definitely be back and have recommended this camp to our friends. Stunning place thank you all.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent no 3 which had sunning views, very private
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SueBa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent three days at the tented lodge, each and every one being hugely enjoyable. A warm welcome from the staff followed by a quick lunch and off on our first game drive. All our game drives were hugely successful with sightings of the big 5. Our ranger (Kyle) seemed to know absolutely everything about the wildlife and the area in general. A drinks stop halfway round was very popular and the hot chocolate on return was especially good. The food throughout was excellent, with highlights being the outdoor braii and outdoor breakfast. With good company and staff, it is a highly recommendable trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the teneted camp in May this year with 4 adults and 2 kids (6 & 10) and we had a great time. The drives were well done, with good knowledgable guides, there was a lot to see every time we went out. After the drives back at the tented camp to service was great and the food was excellent. next to the drives we also did a boat safari and was certainly something we would do again. Great staff. The tents were basic but OK, however they could be updated a little here and there as some small things were failing or broken, but nothing major that made the saty unpleasant at all. We had a great view from our private deck onto the open field.

Room Tip: Sleeping in a tent brings you closer to the wildlife, don't be scared but just do it and enjoy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiderNED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Firstly, we received a very warm welcome from the managers with a delicious drink and tour around the camp. The well equiped tents exceeded our expectations: private terrace, huge bed, perfect bathroom etc. Despite the windy first night, it was still a great night sleep. We were full of energy for the morning game drive, where the enthusiastic guide tought us a lot about the wildlife and everything else in the reserve. The breakfast on the deck at the camp was heavenly, as are the even more stunning views. I could go on for hours, but to summarise, it was everything we could wish for, and more!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_verhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
22.6 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
15.5 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
360 reviews
24.4 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,256 reviews
24.9 mi away
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
#4 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
229 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: off the N2, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range: $417 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbury Tented Camp is one of the hidden jewels of the Eastern Cape. Tucked into an embracing hillside thicket and overlooking the ancient floodplain of the Bushman’s River, the camp offers rustic and secluded luxury, and an authentic African wildlife safari experience. Eight large, comfortable, en-suite tents on raised bases and with private patios provide the seclusion, tranquility and an intimacy with the bush that you would expect on a visit to Amakhala Game Reserve. Each tent has twin or double beds - at your request. Camp life is centered around the stone, thatch and canvas main dining and lounge area, with its expansive deck overlooking the Woodbury plain and waterhole. A wide variety of game species such as zebra, giraffe, buffalo, eland, rhino and elephant fill the passing parade while fish eagles soar overhead, their hauntingly evocative cry echoing across the valley. Soak up the sun while lazing on a recliner next to the pool; sip a refreshing drink or enjoy tea and delicious, freshly baked cakes, before venturing out into the reserve on your next expedition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing