We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located”

High Corner Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Corner Guest House
Ranked #11 of 42 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the oldest buildings in Grahamstown, High Corner is ideally located at one end of the historic High Street. We were in the Gentlemen's Club room, which has twin beds with en-suite bathroom (bath but no separate shower) and a balcony. It was comfortable and the beds were good. The period washstand in the bathroom with two tiny mirrors set into it made shaving and applying make-up an interesting challenge. The dining room/lounge was furnished to to suit the age of the house. Breakfast was ordinary. Sandy, the manageress, and her staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tony
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at High Corner Guest House. Thank you for bringing our attention to the mirrors in the bathroom and we will certainly look into how to improve this without affecting the historical aspect of the bathroom. Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
9
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

we had a month in south africa and this was the worst place we stayed at by some margin .we stayed in the Perch cottage at the back of the guest house which we found dark ,.depressing and poorly furnished and equiped .the ownwer was helpful but couldnt make up for the gloom of the cottage and we were indded glad to get away .....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We thank you for your review of the cottage at High Corner Guest House. It was indeed a gloomy, rainy and wet time accompanied by a power outage for the whole of Grahamstown and surrounding districts which I am sure affected your enjoyment. I am sorry also that you were not feeling well and that you had to cancel your planned outings for township tours. My biggest regret, however, was that you did not bring to our attention that you were unhappy as we would have been happy to make alternative arrangements for you. Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We are regular visitors to High Corner as we have three sons at Rhodes University in Grahamstown. It is walking distance to the University, restaurants and shops which is extremely convenient.
The accommodation is excellent whether you stay in the guest house with the breakfast option or use the self catering cottages
Karen is always extremely helpful and friendly and she makes the guests feel at home. All the staff are efficient and go out of their way to assist.
We plan to go to High Corner for many years to come and highly recommend a stay at this beautifully furnished and historical Guest house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sue

Thank you for your review of High Corner Guest House. It is always a pleasure to host you and your lovely family and we look forward to seeing you for many years to come. Thank you also for sending other guests to us. Kind regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great weekend spent with my teenage son in the delightful High Corner guest house in Grahamstown, South Africa. We stayed in the 'Gentlemen's Club', a pretty room with balcony and en suite bathroom. Breakfast was included. Standard, but well-prepared and wholesome. Very friendly and helpful staff. Off- street parking. The house is one of the oldest in Grahamstown dating back to Dr Atherstone's days, and was owned by Guy Butler who put in the beautiful yellowwood staircase. The only drawback was that our lovely bathroom did not have a shower. Well-worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaJeanWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Fiona

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your son and I hope we will have the opportunity to do so again. The Gentlemen's Club is our only room without a shower but it is lovely and works well as a twin. Kind regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've been meaning to put this review in for a while now.. what a wonderful find! I've been to Grahamstown a number of times.. this stay topping them all!
Karen was extremely helpful and friendly, organising the Gentlemen's Club Suite to stay in for our trip to the Freshlyground concert!
Wonderful, warm hospitality at a well looked after historical building in Grahamstown - a definite recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESPdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very well appointed, comfortable and steeped in history. I stayed in the old Tannery with its own entrance and separate from the main house. Beautiful old historic building, just across the road from Rhodes University and within walking distance of town and restaurants. I will definitely stay there again. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tannery and was very comfortable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lombards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The owner and staff were very welcoming, warm and friendly. Our room was elegantly furnished, and breakfast was a real treat!

Grahamstown provided the perfect place to stop on our bus ride from Durban to do the Garden Route, on our way to Cape Town.

From Claude and Cynthia of Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#3 of 42 in Grahamstown
52 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 42 in Grahamstown
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#8 of 42 in Grahamstown
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
11 Worcester on Durban
11 Worcester on Durban
#14 of 42 in Grahamstown
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Browns at 137 High Street Grahamstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Corner Guest House

Property: High Corner Guest House
Address: High Corner | 122/124 High Street, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Hotel Class:4 star — High Corner Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience historical Grahamstown by staying in this beautifully renovated home graced with Cape antiques, original art and Oregan pine. Within easy walking distance from restaurants, shops, university, museums and local attractions. Accommodation provided in 5 beautiful en-suite rooms with modern conveniences including air conditioning, electric blankets, TV on the DSTV hotel bouquet and free wi fi internet connection. Secure parking behind old stone walls and swimming pool. Two self-catering cottages also available with free wi fi internet and TV on DSTV hotel bouquet. Parking for cottages subject to availability and in High Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing