We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food - worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Michaela's of Cintsa - CLOSED

Michaela's of Cintsa
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food - worth the trip”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have taken a Sunday drive for the buffet lunch. A range of truly delicious dishes to suit every palate. Choicest ingredients.Excellent care taken with presentation. Were this restaurant in the city, they would vie for top position.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColleenM771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Potential”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The restaurant is in a perfect location at the top of a hill, with gorgeous sea views. The food was of a good quality but the whole dining experience was spoiled by a rowdy bunch of locals at the bar. I prefer my fine dining to be in a relaxed, quiet environment. If I wanted to eat in a bar, I would have visited one instead. There was also no background music. It's a pitty, as this restaurant has all the potential, and yet has struggled through various management the past few years.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaffaDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

WOW!!!! what a location!! even if the food wasn't great I would recommend it, but the food was fantastic - Chef Lloyd was charming and compared to prices I have paid for similar brunches this was great value. The views are just awesome - if it is warm ask for a table outside upstairs. If you are in EL on a sunday this place is a must - take a stroll down the long staircase to the fantastic Cintsa beach after lunch to help you digest.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Argillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“get a more exciting menu”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The venue is beautiful, set on a hill overlooking the sea.

The food uninspiring. You expect it to be a seafood menu and it's not.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Amazing setting, amazing ambience, amazing food ------ simply wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michaela's of Cintsa also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing