We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disaster” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Be aware this hotel is a huge party venue Friday and Wednesday evenings and they don't warn you in advance! 4 stars it's hard to believe? The staff although accommodating appear to be doing you a big favour! At every turn. I think They position themselves as a conference venue and club Friday and Wednesday so not a place for couples or families. Considering what other alternatives are available in east London I won't be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    72
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
37
31
7
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon for one night and it was amazing.They gave us a nice room with sea and Lagoon view and everything that you need was in the room.We had a small function at the hotel and they gave us the best service and snack platter it was just perfect.
The service you get is excellent.

Room Tip: The room in the corner will be the C block has the best view of sea and Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lol270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great selection and quality of food, well priced , sports bar and great views from dinning room.
Room clean , good selection of satellite tv channels and warm.
Buisiness or pleasure a really quality down to earth hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

we hosted an Engagement party in December and the food and service was excellent.We were just near the Highlander bar. We have also had many New Years eve dances there. It is very upmarket with a wide choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: the venue has superb views both day and night, well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is very modern, nicely situated and friendly BUT it could be so much more!!!!
They forgot our wake-up call.
Soap and shampoo not enough for two people.
Rooms nicely appointed but rather small.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Royalcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel but i wanted to leave as soon as we finish our conference , bad service the chef was rude , i reported him to Wesley , the name of the chef was Mbasa, What was bad , the rooms. bathroom with no locks.Unhappy with food , same food as lunch at dinner . Even though i had all bad experience there are few that were outstanding in their customer service , people like Nolubabalo and waitress that serve us (metropolitan) in breakfast and lunch, well done guys keep up good work. It is difficult to find this hotel , no directions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xolile Christop... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlander L, Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Good day Xolile.

Thank you for bringing the points to my attention. Blue Lagoon Hotel apologizes for the poor service received. We will look into the issues and rectify immediately.

Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a disappointment. We found ourselves stranded in East London when our South Africa coastal trip was cancelled by a horrendous storm, and relied on a guidebook recommendation to quickly find a respite from the rain. It boasts its 4-star rating at the front desk, but any basis for that rating is nowhere to be found in either the accommodations or the staff. It has a picturesque setting overlooking the river, but all of the one-bedroom rooms have a view of only a garden. The rooms are worn out—lots of water spots on the ceiling from inadequate roofing and water runoff, empty refrigerators that look dingy in their cabinet, no safe in the rooms, and generally the feel of a tired hotel.
A sign at the front desk says that renovation is underway, but it won’t cure the biggest problem—poor service and attitude. When we checked in, there was none of the smiles and warmth we encountered in each of the other accommodations during our 2-week trip to South Africa. No orientation, no information about meal times, no booklet in the room with information about the hotel, area, etc. Any information we wanted we had to ask directly.
Food service was no better. The food itself was unimaginative, and the service was slow. The entire wait staff performed as if they were trainees with no sense of confidence. Their understanding of English was poor, resulting in not bringing the correct food as ordered.
In short, no one seemed to want to be working there, let along enjoying working there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poolroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#2 of 13 in East London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#10 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#12 of 13 in East London
2.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Blue Bend Place | P.O. Box 2177, East London 5205, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing