We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER WITH A BUZZ!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Hemingways
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Whittlesea, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“BETTER WITH A BUZZ!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hemingways Hotel has been our "home away from home" for years. We've been there through thick and thin, in sickness and in health, for better or worse, and nearly till death did we part. We've been through multiple changes of staff and the past renovation that had the place in a tip. We keep going back and recently staged our reunion (husband and wife) when Janet returned from a five and a half month visit to the USA. Now Hemingways has a "buzz" to go with a lovely facility. The new MD (Madeleine) is visible, personable, and hands on. James has added new Food & Beverage events and options which make the hotel life more attractive. Opening "Felix" bar in an unused but special corner is a great addition. Some of the "old" family are still there with Vusumzi tending to personal needs beyond the call of duty. Of course at the top of old family is Assistant MD (Liz) whose blessings cannot be measured. I'm sure as soon as Tripadvisor's time limit allows I'll have another glowing review of Hemingways! We'll certainly be back. Thank you Hemingways family...we love the buzz!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Respectful of Personal Privacy
No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be used to identify an individual is prohibited.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site.

Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]




---original management response-----

Subject: Southern Sun Hemingways
Location: East London
Title: Owner response
ID#: 200177616

Dear Mr. Vehorn,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor.
Your kind comments humble us. Liz is indeed an asset to our establishment and has extensive knowledge of our regular guests. Her passion and caring nature for our guests never runs out.

James is very excited and very busy with all his developments in the Food and Beverage outlets, and I am sure that you will enjoy the new look of Felix Restaurant when you next return. The new sports bar will also add value to our guests who prefer a more relaxed atmosphere to socialise in.

It was wonderful to have you spend Earth Hour with us in the restaurant, and then to meet your lovely wife in the morning was an honour.

Thank you for making Hemingways your hotel of choice when you travel to South Africa and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    73
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
43
8
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

From the process of reservation to checking out the staff were very helpful. Reservation made sure I get the room to my desire. Nice to see a nifty bar fridge in the room, especially with kids it help

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mohammed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz R, Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mohammed
Thank you for posting your positive review on TripAdvisor. Sibongile our reservations agent is truly a gem and she always strives to offer the best service she can to the guest she hardly gets to meet.
Your kind words humble us and we thank you for choosing to spend your time with your family with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Hemingways.
Kind regards
Liz
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My first stay at Hemingways. Hotel refurbished in the last two years. Bedrooms very small but well appointed. Quality finishes, linen and bedding. Bathroom small, water pressure weak but well appointed and more than adequate. Breakfast good and given proximity to Mall, a variety of dining and entertainment options. Staff friendly but front desk could improve.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Hemingways Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and have already started a drive with the front desk staff. Behavioural changes unfortunately do take time, and we will continue to work on it.

Thank you for patronage and we hope that we will remain to be your hotel of choice when you next travel to East London.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff is extremely friendly and professional. The hotel meets all business expectations and needs and is located right next a mall so very convenient. Rooms are a bit on the small side for my liking but do work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic for us to see that our local residents are making use of our establishment.

We would like this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and to remind you to stay tuned to the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed overnight as was visiting family.
Great little room and staff was average. The toilet was noisy, but not excessively. Easy access to the mall was great. However, the one major concern was the fact that the passage outside our room led to the casino and mall and thus was noisy at all times of the day/night

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savuka1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear world traveller,

We do apologise for the noise factor you experienced during your stay. It is a pity that we were not aware of it during your stay as we would have offered to move you to the new section of the hotel which is on the opposite side of the casino and shopping mall.

We trust that you and your family had a memorable reunion with your family and look forward to being your hotel of choice when you next return to East London.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is neat and trendy; the rooms were comfortable and amenities satisfactory. However , the staff left much to be desired. No smiles, no morning greetings, difficulty understanding English and general zombie like behavior was most distasteful. The manageress was a beautiful, friendly hostess however so it's a shame her cheery disposition didn't rub off on the staff. My battered calamari was disgusting - old salty, underdone and unappetizing to look at. The highlight was breakfast - smoked salmon, cream cheese and dill; eggs in any way you like done to perfection; cereals ; an array of condiments ; juices; sausages, mushrooms, cheese, fish, potatoes , bacon and flaky crossiants and pastries were truly a treat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Varsha0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear local traveller,

We appreciate your constructive feedback you have offered to us and other travellers. As the new General Manager of Hemingways, I have identified certain areas of improvement, and would be really pleased to inform you that I have finally rubbed off on some of the staff.

Being in hospitality one must have a passion for what we do, and that comes with the confidence of knowing we make a difference in people’s lives, and most importantly when they come and stay with us. It is a pity that staff in general never realise the impact that they have on others and how important they are, and by re-iterating your comments, this has most certainly sparked a new life into them.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and ask that you stay tuned the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I like the old rooms, they're comfortable and the ambience is excellent. I don't like the new rooms, they are dreadful in terms the beds, bathroom rooms - low pressure in showers, dreadfully noisy when it's windy, broken couches.
Otherwise the hotel is generally great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Xola B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear X,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are very concerned to hear about the experience you had in the new rooms, and even more disturbed that we were not aware of this and not afforded the opportunity to correct this for you. A future travel tip – where ever you travel, please contact the reception desk, staff are always willing to assist.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and ask that you stay tuned the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
235 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Hemingways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hemingways

Property: Southern Sun Hemingways
Address: Cnr Western Avenue and Two Rivers Drive | Vincent, East London 5200, South Africa (Formerly Hemingways Hotel - East London)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hemingways 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London is one of South Africa’s best kept secrets with a multitude of attractions but still maintaining that small town feel. The Hemingways Hotel is situated adjacent to the Hemingways Casino and Hemingways mall. It affords easy access to all the major highways, national roads and the airport. Inspired by Ernest Hemingway, this sub-tropical styled hotel offers a unique island lifestyle break, right in the heart of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southern Sun Hemingways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing