We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Hemingways
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed overnight as was visiting family.
Great little room and staff was average. The toilet was noisy, but not excessively. Easy access to the mall was great. However, the one major concern was the fact that the passage outside our room led to the casino and mall and thus was noisy at all times of the day/night

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savuka1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear world traveller,

We do apologise for the noise factor you experienced during your stay. It is a pity that we were not aware of it during your stay as we would have offered to move you to the new section of the hotel which is on the opposite side of the casino and shopping mall.

We trust that you and your family had a memorable reunion with your family and look forward to being your hotel of choice when you next return to East London.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    73
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
43
8
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is neat and trendy; the rooms were comfortable and amenities satisfactory. However , the staff left much to be desired. No smiles, no morning greetings, difficulty understanding English and general zombie like behavior was most distasteful. The manageress was a beautiful, friendly hostess however so it's a shame her cheery disposition didn't rub off on the staff. My battered calamari was disgusting - old salty, underdone and unappetizing to look at. The highlight was breakfast - smoked salmon, cream cheese and dill; eggs in any way you like done to perfection; cereals ; an array of condiments ; juices; sausages, mushrooms, cheese, fish, potatoes , bacon and flaky crossiants and pastries were truly a treat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Varsha0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear local traveller,

We appreciate your constructive feedback you have offered to us and other travellers. As the new General Manager of Hemingways, I have identified certain areas of improvement, and would be really pleased to inform you that I have finally rubbed off on some of the staff.

Being in hospitality one must have a passion for what we do, and that comes with the confidence of knowing we make a difference in people’s lives, and most importantly when they come and stay with us. It is a pity that staff in general never realise the impact that they have on others and how important they are, and by re-iterating your comments, this has most certainly sparked a new life into them.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and ask that you stay tuned the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I like the old rooms, they're comfortable and the ambience is excellent. I don't like the new rooms, they are dreadful in terms the beds, bathroom rooms - low pressure in showers, dreadfully noisy when it's windy, broken couches.
Otherwise the hotel is generally great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Xola B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear X,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are very concerned to hear about the experience you had in the new rooms, and even more disturbed that we were not aware of this and not afforded the opportunity to correct this for you. A future travel tip – where ever you travel, please contact the reception desk, staff are always willing to assist.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and ask that you stay tuned the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusikisiki, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

When checking in your goods to be taken to your room
Room was clean and up to standard
TV is of high level and bar fridge
Amenities like, toiletry, towels, toilet paper, water
I like the Cocktail Party on Wednesdays and enjoyed it so much

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tobeka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that the hotel has met your expectations and that you enjoyed our weekly meet and greet. During your next visit please be aware that we are now hosting this event in our reception lobby. This is a more central location and we have found that our guest interact more with each other.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your patronage.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I would recommend this to anyone any day, warm, friendly staff and excellent facilities, really enjoyed my stay, will definitely go back, it was truely a pleasant stay, they went all out making it comfortable even for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anna Catharina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Gauteng resident,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is always such a reward to read that our staff was a part of a memorable and comfortable stay. We share all our feedback and this most certainly assists us in keeping them motivated and encouraged.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for the Ironman weekend. The hotel is quite far from the beachfront activities and registration but 15mins by car. The hotel is attached to a shopping centre which was great for dinner and stocking up on supplies for the event. Although over this time the restaurants were full and battling to keep up with the influx of people. Book early as at times we waited hours for our food. The beachfront restaurants were much the same. You could eat in the hotel but a pricey for what you got. The inclusive breakfast was lovely. The hotel was upmarket, air conditioned and clean with a lovely pool - very comfortable stay.
Hotel put on a pre race breakfast at 4:30am which was very helpful for the participants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz R, Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Deborah
We are pleased that we were your hotel of choice for the Iron man race and that the facilities met with your expectation. We sincerely apologise for the slow service you received in the hotel restaurant and this has been discussed with the Food and Beverage Manager.
As we always endeavour and anticipate our guest needs it is wonderful to know that the early breakfast for the race was well received and noted.
We hope that your training for next year’s Ironman is on schedule and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Liz
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Other than the fact that I was not happy with the check in process (which took about an hour to get allocated a room), I enjoyed my stay at this establishment. The fact that the hotel is part of Hemingways mall made it easy to entertain kids and to shop for all the necessities, I will recommend it to colleagues and friends

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Solomon Vuyisil... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz R, Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Solomon
We sincerely apologise for the delay you experienced during check in. It is difficult to understand what could have caused the delay if we were not notified immediately. Rooms are allocated depending the information we receive during the reservation process and perhaps the information we had could have mislead us in allocating your room.
We are pleased that you enjoyed all the other facilities Hemingways had to offer and we are looking forward to having you and your family back on your next holiday.
Kind regards
Liz
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
588 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
236 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Hemingways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hemingways

Property: Southern Sun Hemingways
Address: Cnr Western Avenue and Two Rivers Drive | Vincent, East London 5200, South Africa (Formerly Hemingways Hotel - East London)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hemingways 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London is one of South Africa’s best kept secrets with a multitude of attractions but still maintaining that small town feel. The Hemingways Hotel is situated adjacent to the Hemingways Casino and Hemingways mall. It affords easy access to all the major highways, national roads and the airport. Inspired by Ernest Hemingway, this sub-tropical styled hotel offers a unique island lifestyle break, right in the heart of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southern Sun Hemingways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing