We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Premier Hotel Regent
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in East London
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located for conference attendees and had a fantastic view. Service and cleanliness needs urgent attention. Carpets and upholstry looks like it was very dirty, got wet and was left to dry, now it's stained and it looks horrible. Rooms are spacious but is old. Noise from shouting staff woke me up every morning around 5am. Rude reception and room service staff ruined good service given by bar lady and breakfast chef. This hotel has so much potential, but it has to be managed better.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Premier Hotel Regent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 194 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well I would love to disagree with all the other travelers about this hotel but I really can't. I had the same problem with vouchers where they just refused to check me in until they got the vouchers. The reception staff were rude and unfriendly. The hotel rooms are very old and they, as well as the hotel itself, desperately need some cosmetic help. I had shocking black mould in my room and water leaking from the roof! This could be a beautiful hotel but it desperately needs to be refurbished and the staff need some attitude adjustment. On top of all this...we paid an exorbitant amount of money to be there.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The visit started off badly - they did not have my voucher number from the travel agent, then they wanted me to pay by credit card to secure the room as the travel agency had not paid. The staff were unwelcoming, rude and paid very little attention to the guests queueing up. Then the workshop we had booked was nearly without lunch as we were informed about 10 minutes before the restaurant closed that it was closing. Stunning location, terrible service!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XDvir, Manager at Premier Hotel Regent, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your last visit to The Premier Hotel Regent.

We are always striving to provide the best in hospitality to all guests, and in this case, due to an unfortunate misunderstanding, we failed in our attempt to do this. Please accept our humble apologies for this unpleasant experience.

I hope that you will afford us the opportunity to address your concerns immediately should this kind of misunderstanding occur in future. In this way you can be assured that we will give you our undivided attention to ensure that your concerns are addressed to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,


Daniel Velayutham
Resident Manager - Premier Hotel Regent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had it just been one of the things mentioned in the title of this review, perhaps the hotel could have gotten away with a 3-star rating. However, in the span of 24 hours, this hotel managed to dash nearly every good expectation I had, leaving me with little left to appreciate.

To start, the hotel was supposed to have a shuttle pick me up from the airport in East London. After waiting for 45 minutes, I had to arrange a shuttle with an independent company instead. Upon arriving to the hotel, I was told they had no reservation for me despite my room having been confirmed with the business group I was traveling with. After that, I was informed the room I had supposedly reserved was no long available and that they only had interior rooms remaining. These rooms are very tiny with single beds and absolutely no windows. Painted cinder block walls are greet you as well. I will say the one positive of this hotel was that the single bed was quite comfortable and had great bedding.

After the disappointment with my room, I went to have dinner at the restaurant. The buffet was nothing exciting and much of the food looked downright bad. Following dinner, I went to the front desk to ask about the wifi. They said it was only available in the common area (not the rooms) and that it was out because of the wind. This was understandable as the weather was quite bad.

The next day, however, I purchased their basic R50 internet service and was shocked when the 100 MB were used up within 5 minutes. I had visited 2 websites to book hotel rooms and had downloaded nothing. Clearly I had not used 100MB. The front desk would have nothing of it. Ended up paying R50 for a useless 5-10 minutes online. Insane.

Overall, this place was a huge disappoint. It could be nice if they improved the service and amenities. As of now, it's struggling for 2 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

honestly i dont like what i am seing about this hotel,,i jusk ask my self why such beautiful place like this get so negetive reviews,,this hotel have a great view and it is Situated in a good place but why why it deliver a poor service like this ,,is because lack of staff or poor management skills,,,i am working in an hospitality industry,,MY QUESTION IS, IS A GENERAL MANAGER CHECK THIS REVIEWs??? if yes what are you doing to change or to improve ur standard of service,,,i am currently in cape town but original i am from the eastern cape,,its not nice to read negetive reviews about our hotels in eastern cape please people pull up your socks,,,my request to a GM do a sign to show that you check your hotel reviews.

Room Tip: sea view room coz u can sea the beauty of east london labour
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maswazandile m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have decided to try this hotel instead of myoriginal booking at Hemmingways. I was shocked at the "bad experience".
1) There is no dedicated shower but one above the bath with shower curtauins that is not even long enough to keep the water from falling outside the bath. Bath showers is a no-no!
2) My organisation had to pay upfront (why no-one knows), which means no rooms ervice and no changes because "the dinner was paid already". Even if the room service is less than the dinner - NO room service.
3) Waiting 30 min's for a omelet is not what I call good service
4) The food, variety and taste/quality is appalling, both of dinner and breakfast.
5) No wifi in the rooms. Who in 2012 still does not provide WiFi
6) No wifi access for cofnerence attendees.

Overall, bad experience and will never change from Southern Sun again. Sorry!

Room Tip: If you NEED to stay here, at least, choose a room with a balcony to enjoy the sea breeze and view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I attended a function at this hotel. The catering was top class as usual and the signage was great. The hotel deserves a little revamp in decor now , as it is being ursuped by the sister hotel next door. My complaint is, on arrival at function i parked at the southern entrance in pouring rain, little knowing that at the end of function this door shall be locked. At midnite, had to use the northern door and walk all aroung the hotel in pouring rain to access the car, no umbrella offered, noone to assist, whilst balancing on very high heels. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
180 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#12 of 14 in East London
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Regent

Address: 22 Esplanade Street | Quigney, East London 5201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in East London
Price Range: $65 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Regent has spectacular ocean views and is located in South Africa's only river port city, East London. East London, also known as Buffalo City, lies at the heart of the Inyathi Buffalo route. Although it is one of South Africa's smaller cities, East London is filled with historical depth, a variety of cultures, beautiful people and sandy beaches. It is adjacent to one of these spectacular beaches that Premier Hotel Regent is poised. With magical views of the Indian Ocean, this pristine hotel is a mere 15 minute drive to East London's airport and in close proximity to the CBD and various shopping centres. The Premier Hotel Regent, a beachfront hotel in the river port city of East London, provides comfortable and luxurious accommodation for touring groups, business executives, and families alike. It is centrally located within five minutes' drive from major shopping, entertainment, and sports facilities and only 18 minutes from the airport.The Premier Hotel Regent offers excellent business and conference facilities where up to 800 delegates can be accommodated. It is the largest hotel conference venue in the Eastern Cape and ideal for both large and small functions including weddings, summits, and product launches. All the conference rooms are fitted with video and audio-visual equipment to ensure professional presentations. The Premier Hotel Regent takes care of all your accommodation needs with 175 luxury rooms ranging from deluxe suites with jacuzzi's, family suites, and double rooms with their own balconies for panoramic views, to stylish studios which are ideal for touring groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent East London
East London Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing