We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere and tasty food!”
Review of Sanook Cafe

Sanook Cafe
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere and tasty food!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Love the atmosphere at this restaurant. It's lovely to sit outside as there are gas heaters, fleece blankets and sherry to keep you warm!
Not to mention the fact that the food is yummy!
Absolutely love the fact that you have 4 options of what to have with your burger - my personal favourite are the sweet potato peels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasstasia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    114
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great restaurant, food is excellent and great value.My only gripe is the parking! This has to be the worst area for parking, there is no allocated parking for this establishment, makes one wonder if they considered this spot before signing a lease, it took me over 30 minutes to find parking, needless to say I was late for a business lunch (and so was my guest)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bungee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a wonderful pizza!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Got off to an unfortunate start as when we arrived seemed no record of our table reservation and , of course , no tables available.
This was so quickly and well handled and with some juggling we were seated in a few minutes.
Simple meal as was quite late but certainly worth the slight wait. My pizza , a Caveman was perfect with the thinnest base possible, delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAfricaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've been here three times and will always come back.

Food was very well prepared and good value for money. Exceptional Gourmet Burgers and great Pizzas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delightfully different”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lovely home made burgers with different ingredients. You will never look at Burgers the same again. A Friend had Pizza and enjoyed it also. Lovely ambience/vibe and reasonably prized. You could ask for a desert pizza, with Banana .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketlist500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanook Cafe also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Sanook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing