We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Buffalo Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Backpackers
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My girlfriend and myself stayed over at Buffalo Backpackers mid December and found the place the cleanest out of all the places we looked at in East London. The manger, Nelson, was a great help with sorting out a problem we had with our car. Would recommend this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

First of all, this budget accomodation is fine for what you pay for. My bad review is definitely regarding the staff and the management. The night we were there, the guests next to our room got robbed and the robbers tried to break-in into our room too (If someone knocks on your door during the night telling you it's management, NEVER open. This is common practice in South Africa), but we didn't open the door. After that tough, we put the bed in front of the door and we were in shock. We got stuck in our room for 2 1/2 hours without anybody from staff telling us what had happen or if we could get out. After this time, we finally decided by ourselves to come out, finding the staff downstairs waiting for the police. Moreover, 4 hours after the break-in, the management wasn't even on site (neither was the police). We left this place with a bitter-sweet feeling principaly because the situation wasn't handled at all by the backpackers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nini2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was looking for budget accomodations in East London in a central location. This fit the bill. Staff was pretty friendly, the place was pretty empty except for a friendly group from Gauteng, the location is safe and central, and there was plenty of secure parking. I am only giving this a 3 because I had the feeling that the room had not been thoroughly cleaned. I have been in worse in countries like India, but in South Africa the standards are higher and so one would expect things better. The sheets seemed to have hair on / in them, the bathroom did not seem really scrubbed, but it was not grungy or filthy, somehow in between. I figured I was only staying a night so it would do. I will be going through East London again next year - not sure if I would stay here again. Think I will check out the room and have a backup option just in case things have not improved.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Attention c'est très bruyant, toutes les chambres donnent sur une cours intérieure fréquentées p...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Wouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
See More Guest House
See More Guest House
#3 of 143 in East London
104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Arendsnes Holiday and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
194 reviews
14.2 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Backpackers

Address: 1a Turnberry Avenue | Bunkers Hill, East London 5241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Specialty Lodging in East London
Price Range: $63 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buffalo Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing