We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLLIDAY STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court East London
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, South Africa
1 review
“HOLLIDAY STAY”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good service and treated with respect. We enjoyed staying there. All people from your Front desk were so warm and Kind. Speedy assistance from your House Keeping Team. Friendly and visible Car Guard at all times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Zbontshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Garden Court East London, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time complete a review of our hotel from your recent stay. I am delighted to have received this wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Ian Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    112
    78
    18
    14
See reviews for
77
32
13
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Traveling from Durban to Port Elizabeth, we needed a place to sleep in East London. We chose Garden Court. From check in to check out - a very pleasant experience with service levels above average.

Room service was good as we chose to eat on our room (World Cup Soccer!).

Worth a return, with a view of the ocean second to none.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dupreezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Garden Court East London, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing Garden Court East London as a stop over for your trip. We appreciate this positive feedback and look forward to welcoming back in near future.

Warm Regards

Ian Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mthatha
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stay indoors as everything you need is in store. Value for money, presentable and eager to help staff. Conference facilities are state of the art. It was a real pleasure doing business with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Unathi Mbongeni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Garden Court East London, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for great feedback and is wonderfull to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Warm Regards
Ian Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our family was planning on going out for dinner but the place we chose wasn't so great so we opted to go to Holiday Inn for a buffet dinner. The food as always was delicious and the service was friendly and fast. I was a little disappointed in the dessert selection but I do realize that different things are available each night (as I know from previous experience at the Garden Court). We didn't even need to make a reservation. At R 175 p/p it's more of a occasions thing then just dinner. But worth it for once a month treat. Drinks are not included but starters, main, dessert and coffee/tea and cheese board is all included (a big plus for my hubby cause he can have as much meat as he wants & a good thing for me because I get to have food I like but ignore what I don't enjoy). I had the Chococino for the first time and it was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel3585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Garden Court East London, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and the positive feedback. We appreciate this ongoing feedback and look forward to welcoming in near future.

Warm Regards

Ian Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The comments made about Luckie need your immediate attention as this might cause you a serious business. The guy is very arrogant nad rude to say the least.We need people who can relate well to all the guests as well

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tshililo Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Its a great place for family holidays when you have a tight budget, its right on the beach and next to lot of restaurants. I didnt like the fact that its too close to convinient shops. Whatever you do, dont compare it to Durban Garden Court.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Boni X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Garden Court East London, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Elais M

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. This is great feeback and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Warm Regards

Ian Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

keep up the good work , however price should be reduced for frequent guest, this is to ensure frequent guest coming back, and also for feedback this part of the survey is actually a bit long, and takes up too much time.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Selvan Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Garden Court East London, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Selvan

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and am happy to see you had a great say with us. I appreciate the feedback and comments, we do offer a discount for Reward Program members (frequent guests), please request this when making your next booking for your visit to East London.

Warm Regards

Ian Mackay
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
235 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court East London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court East London

Property: Garden Court East London
Address: Cnr. John Baillie & Moore Streets | Quigney, East London 5201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in East London
#2 On the Beach Hotel in East London
#4 Business Hotel in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court East London 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Eastern Cape, East London is often considered the southern gateway to the Wild Coast. The Garden Court Hotel has an exceptional location overlooking the ocean and is ideal for travellers wanting to rest for a night or those wishing to stay a while, offering exceptional service and impressive facilities. This hotel provides an affordable vacation with its family-friendly beaches and the Garden Court hotel is the perfect base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court East London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court East London Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing