We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico in East London”
Review of Tu Casa B&B

Tu Casa B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tu Casa B&B
Ranked #17 of 143 East London B&B and Inns
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mexico in East London”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I got here because the hostel I stayed the first night was not available for the next night. I was lucky because this was a much better place. The owner and her mother are incredibly warm and welcoming and I regretted we could not stay any longer.
It is indeed a home away from home.
Rooms are large and nicely decorated, free wifi provided and the breakfast delicious. Should be higher in the ranking, Tripadvisor !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilam1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Helena Vd Ham, owner of Tu Casa B&B is one marvelous lady. Always got a lovely smile on her face and together with her mom they are a team that makes you feel you are at home. The rooms are spacious and the beds are stunning.

I have to comment her on the breakfast she prepared for me. This lady knows how to cook and I just loved the omelette that she prepared for me. Most of the times I do not get into any conversation with hosts but these two ladies drags you into chatting with them and then a whole new world opens in front of you.

You guys are amazing. Please keep up the great work and personalities that you are.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The BnB is very lovely and nice decorated. It has a fridge and microwave, TV plus Wifi, Bathroom with spacious shower. Just booked the room and therefore cannot say anything regarding the food. The BnB is in Nahoon, which is not in the center of East London. Without a car you cannot do anything there. In case you want to pay directly at the BnB with card an extra fee applies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This Mexican Style (Frida Kahlo-themed, really) B'n'B offers great service in a homey atmosphere. The hosts pets (a black cat and a parrot) add to the flair of the place and make it even more lovable.

Locationwise it might miss out a bit, not being in the very center of East London, but in our view that was almost an advantage, because it's in a quiet neighbourhood with a couple of shops and the beach nearby.

The Tu Casa B'n'B has 4 secured parking spots and DsTV facilities in all 4 rooms. The rooms are further equipped with coffee and tea making facilities and you get a rusk and a chocolate each upon arrival. The rooms and the en-suite bathrooms are tastefully decorated in different colours with love and much attention to detail. We felt absolutely at home there.

The best thing about the Tu Casa B'n'B are the hosts though. Helena, her husband and her mother run the place as a family business and their dedication to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible shows in everything they do. The breakfast they serve is absolutely delicious with fresh fruit, yoghurt, honey and a cooked meal and fresh bread. If you book in advance, you can even order dinner. We didn't know about that option before our arrival, but we sure wish we had.

We had such a nice, satisfying stay at the Tu Casa B'n'B that we will definitely come back when we're in East London again! Go there - it's great value for money and you'll meet some of the nicest people on this planet!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadaSuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We needed a place to stay to stay near Beach Road in East London and found this little beauty. A wonderful bed and breakfast with friendly, accommodating, helpful staff. The accommodation price was reasonable considering it was peak holiday season, R550 for a double room incl. full breakfast.

The décor and ambiance of the property is fantastic, my wife loved it. The rooms are a good size, a wonderfully comfortable king size bed, the bathroom was more than sufficient with large shower and all the other essentials. There is also a beauty salon on the property where appointments can be booked.

The only drawback was that it was mid summer and the rooms have no air-conditioning, there is however a fan provided.

I would definitely stay here again!!! I look forward to visiting Helena and her team again in April.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywhalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
2.0 mi away
The Hampton
The Hampton
#2 of 143 in East London
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appleby's Guest House
Appleby's Guest House
#21 of 143 in East London
17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 13 in East London
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jakobs Guesthouse & Cottage
Jakobs Guesthouse & Cottage
#68 of 143 in East London
1 reviews
13.6 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Casa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Casa B&B

Property: Tu Casa B&B
Address: 2 Ascot Road, East London 5241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tu Casa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing