We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Dreams”

African Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
African Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 143 East London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alice, South Africa
1 review
“African Dreams”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was an excellent stay. Thev facilities were excellent. It will be a good idea if I can have any opportunity to check in in the evenings after the last flight from Joburg because I normally attend meetings that result in me coming late.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Voster M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
9
2
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the Buffalo Suite for a week, whilst my son was on a cricket tour. Suite comprised of 2 rooms with a small inter leading lounge (which contains a sleeper couch). There are no views, but as this was a "sporting" visit, comfort was more important. My daughter loved the swimming pool and the owner's dog. She had a constant companion for the week. The owners were very accommodating regarding breakfast times to enable us to have a delicious full breakfast earlier than normal, prior to leaving for the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akisanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

When we are in East London, African Dreams is there only place we stay in for years. Its homely, its safe for my kids, the service is excellent and people are friendly and welcoming. African dream is like home and my kids love it too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tinyiko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I concur that the somewhat rundown state of that part of town is off-putting, but also that once you get inside, this is a gem. They get all the little things right - the shampoo, vanity kit, shoe mitt etc that so many South African bed and breakfasts fail to supply - or do so only sporadically. Even an honour bar in the room, and free wi-fi. Be careful getting your car out, though - the driveway is narrow! But overall a great choice - close to the sea front too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

At first I was not sure if this was the right choice due to location, but after entering you go into your own little haven. Close to the see and all the venues. Perfect spot for sporting events, especially ironman 70.3.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houseofkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have some form of lawyalty program, for your returning guests other wise competition will give you a run for your money.
Even if you offer a discount on your Guessts's B-days.
You can offer the spercials over week ends, or low pick periods.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sivu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I travel alot with my job and have stayed in many hotels and B&B all over Africa. African Dream was especially homey. Nothing more important than being away from home and still feeling like your home in a hotel/B&B room. I enjoyed my stay. Very clean, neat accommodation, close to all emnities (beach and gym). Wow was impressed.
Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court East London
Garden Court East London
#4 of 14 in East London
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hampton
The Hampton
#1 of 143 in East London
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
See More Guest House
See More Guest House
#3 of 143 in East London
102 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Loerie Hide
The Loerie Hide
#8 of 143 in East London
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Dreams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Dreams Bed and Breakfast

Property: African Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Address: 55 Tennyson Street | Quigney, East London 5201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — African Dreams Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your African Dreams Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing