We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun, friendly and fabulous”
Review of 36 on Bonza

36 on Bonza
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
36 on Bonza
Ranked #17 of 143 East London B&B and Inns
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fun, friendly and fabulous”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I went to East London to celebrate my friend's birthday last weekend. I stayed at the very stylish 36 on Bonza. The place is modern but not cold, sweet but not frivolous and the staff is super friendly. This is a very welcoming place. They have a beautiful swimming pool (with a fountain) and I took a dip every morning of my stay. The service is great, the people who work there are very helpful. I stayed in room # 8 and I think it's the best room. You have a little balcony with chairs and a little table, a view of the pool area and at night you can see "city" lights in the distance. The room is immaculate and modern and fresh. It has a free standing bath tub, huge shower, and a very nice & small kitchenette space. They also have a fun fish pond in-front of the building. I highly recommend 36 on Bonza if you want a great stay in East London.

Room Tip: Room # 8 is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a great little guest house to stay in on my recent business trip. It's stylish and refined and the service matches the classy nature of the establishment. There were a couple of small touches that didn't work for me - no dining room for evening meals, no bedside tables in my particular room - but overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I'll be back and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

36 on Bonza was a stop off for us on our way down the Wild Coast but what a gem! The rooms are beautifully decorated and come complete with everything you could need. We had an upgraded balcony room which is useful if one of you smokes. The hotel is small, only 10 rooms, and mainly business visitors during the week so it was quiet but friendly when we arrived.
There were two tiny things I mentioned to the staff about our room, tiny little details about lighting (it is very dark in the room with all the lighting on) and the very bright blue socket lights(which we covered with a pillow in the end).

Overall a really great hotel I am very happy to recommend nd room 8 is great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

A very smart, modern boutique hotel just off the main N2.

We arrived late and they had arranged a take out meal for us to heat in the microwave in our room. We were very pleased as we had had a very long day.

The room was ultra modern, very stylish and very clean. No faults at all. The bar was well stocked in the dining room.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Altogether a beautiful place to stay in a very convenient spot for travellers.

Room Tip: Just ask for a back room as the front rooms face a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here on a three night stop over for the National Swimming Gala in East London with our 10 year old son. East London was relatively new territory for us and there weren't too many reviews available for 36 on Bonza.

Overall, we were very pleased with the standard of accommodation. We had been given the honeymoon suite which was spacious and had enough space for our son's extra bed. The room was well furnished with contemporary furniture, had ample plugs and a good size desk. The beds were extremely comfortable. The room was open plan, with sleeping and desk area flowing into a small kitchen area and bathroom area. The slipper bath in the room looked very stylish - and very honeymoonish. However, the only person who used it was our 10 year old, as we much preferred to use the large and well pressurised shower. The only drawback to the room was the lack of door to the toilet area - we are not a prudish family but sometimes a bit of privacy is required and moreover appreciated by others......

Breakfast was excellent with a lovely range of cold and hot dishes which were freshly prepared for us. There is a Swiss coffee machine which blasts out very strong and apparently great cappucinos. (I'm not a coffee drinker, but my husband is). The breakfast sausages were particularly excellent, as was the choice of breads for toast. Everything from the super healthy to the absolutely not. There was something for everyone.

Kim, the manageress was extremely welcoming, friendly, efficient and flexible. She organised early breakfasts for us as we had to be at the swimming pool by 7.15 am and these were very much appreciated. She waited for us on our late arrival, helped us with our wet swimming laundry, provided us with extra swimming towels and gave us great recommedations for dining. Nothing was too much trouble.

The architecture of the place is interesting - look out for the huge Koi carp which can be viewed through the glass floored landing.......

The only thing to be aware of is that there is not a lift to the upper room, so you will need to carry your cases upstairs. But after all that swim training, what's a little case carrying?!

We were very happy with our choice of 36 on Bonza, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Excellent amenities! Comfortable rooms. Staff is friendly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSe7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

If you are going through East London and you need to jump onto the N2 to connect to your next destination, this is the best street for you to book into. The finishings are really quite exquisite and the bath in the room is not my cup of tea, I do like a door between me and my bathroom.

The manager is extremely friendly and there is constant access to coffee, muffins and fruit in the main lounge are.

Room Tip: I would avoid the twin rooms, and go for the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
567 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
227 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hampton
The Hampton
#2 of 143 in East London
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Park Place Boutique Guesthouse
Park Place Boutique Guesthouse
#1 of 143 in East London
184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 14 in East London
37 reviews
14.2 mi away
Arendsnes Holiday and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 on Bonza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 on Bonza

Property: 36 on Bonza
Address: 36 Bonza Bay Road | Beacon Bay, East London 5241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Hotel Class:4 star — 36 on Bonza 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your 36 on Bonza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing