We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Areena Riverside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed over 1 night in the campsite and we were impressed. The sites are very big and clean. The ablutions were spotless and in very good condition. There is enough space for the kids to play and enjoy themselves. Although the pool is not very big, the area was neat anx tidy. One suggestion would be that thete should be more space in the shower for youe clothes and towel as one hook against the wall ia just not sufficient. Overall a very goos resort that would be best experienced over a longer stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dawie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    50
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
33
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Last november my sister and I camped here 2 nights and although the weather wasn't that nice (it was raining the first night and morning) the experience was great!

We put our tent up next to the river so we had an amazing view and the ostriches who are running free on the camping came to visit us. After BBQ we went to the pub and enjoyed a few plays of table tennis. After that we had a nice shower, the ablutions are very clean and we washed your cloths (good washing machines and dryers).

The next morning the owner of the place was so kind to drop us off at the beach so we had a really nice walk (around 2 hours or so) and then he picked us up at the end of our walk and we joined the bush walk for which we had an amazing guide! He was really passionated about nature and animals and was answering all our questions with pleasure.

Abbey the amazing giraffe came to join us on the walk which was a once in a lifetime experience!! Such a beautiful creature! The coolest is that he is free so he doesn't have come to us silly tourists ;-) but he just enjoys the attention. We liked it as well!!

If you are ever in the surroundings, go to this place. Make a stroll over the beautiful coast and do a bush walk. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The camping is great. You can put your tent next to the river and the ostriches are running free aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHerremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Areena riverside resort met all the needs of my entire family during our past Easter Holiday .

From the beautiful location to the many activities that involved my entire family from fishing, boating, water skiing, quad biking, horse riding,



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ And Gizzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stunning camping resort, superb all around

Clean ablutions, friendly staff all around, secure environment

Have to negotiate via roadworks on N2, R102 unsafe for early or late travel, GPS got totally confused (lol) not Areena's fault though

Lovely place, free ranging game, lovely restaurant, canoes, quads, serenity.

Chris V

Chris V


Chris V

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review Chris! The GPS problem is such an unfortunate one, and we have been trying to get them to correct this. Hopefully it will be sorted soon! Great to have you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great place for caravaning or camping,Cottages and suites available,
Located on the Kwelera River 25 kms from East London.Good birding and fishing
5 kms from River Mouth where there is an almost private beach, canoes for hire , restaurant and bar on site
Great place to relax

Room Tip: Wooden Chalets are the best if you are not camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfreak550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an stunning review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a very spacious 2-bedroom chalet on the banks of the river at a good price. All staff were friendly and helpful. We recommend the quad bike experience through their extensive wildlife area, and the chance to meet Abby, the friendly giraffe, who will give you a very sandpapery kiss. Fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review! Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so very much, we hope you will be visiting us again very soon for more kisses from Abby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansdorp, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very friendly and helpful personnel, clean and beautiful accommodation, enjoyed being so close to the animals and outdoor. Will definitely like to go there again. Had a nice lunch in the restaurant and my husband and sun enjoyed it to be so near the river for fishing. The only recommendation that I would make is for the units to have some kind of a safe barrier at the stairs, my boy is still young and I was afraid to let him sleep upstairs. We had to drive in-to East London as our daughter had to attend athletics, it was a very short distance to town and then again a very short distance back before being back in nature. We enjoyed the weekend and had a good rest. The fact that the units are fully furnished made it much easier on me not to worry about packing extra stuff in for the weekend. The units are very neat and nicely decorated and we and the children enjoyed the privilege of feeding the animals, priceless..

Room Tip: Corner units are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation, we will definitely be taking it under advisement. We hope to have you here for a visit again soon, this time maybe in a cottage where you wont have to worry about your young one getting hurt as there are no stairs. We also have a lovely spa on the premises now where you can enjoy a wonderful pampering while your sun and husband enjoy fishing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East London
7.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
561 reviews
19.3 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
8.2 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
7.7 mi away
Mpongo Private Game Reserve
Mpongo Private Game Reserve
#4 of 45 in East London
74 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areena Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areena Riverside Resort

Property: Areena Riverside Resort
Address: Farm 694 Portion 7 | East Coast Resorts Road, East London 5259, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Areena Riverside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 23 kilometers east of the East London city centre Areena Riverside Resort has become a sought after holiday and corporate destination.Nestled on the banks of the Kwelera tidal river, is the Eastern Cape's best kept secrect. Areena offers everything from well grassed camping sites, self-catering accommodation, adventure village and game reserve, conference facilities, to an upmarket family style restaurant and pub.Areena is the perfect place for fairy tale weddings, conferencing, corporate teambuilding and school and church camps.At Areena, there is always something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Areena Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing