We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse with excellent finishing touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
See More Guest House
Ranked #3 of 143 East London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Guesthouse with excellent finishing touches”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This guesthouse could have just been another well appointed guesthouse but it moved into the excellent category with it's really excellent finishing touches.

Our little family of 3 stayed in one room as we were just passing through, but the sleeper couch for my 8 year old was very comfortable and the room was just big enough for the 3 of us to not feel too squashed. The furnishings or the room and the guesthouse are of a high quaity and in addition to the normal amenities we had a small fridge, microwave and some crockery and cutley so we could warm up food if we wanted to. This is very useful if you don't want to eat out all the time.

The guesthouse had some great facilities like a common lounge which my husband and I used once we had put our son to bed. All the rooms have easy access to the lounge so there is no problem leaving a sleeping child in the room. The common lounge has access to the full DSTV package (rooms have a restricted package) as well as providing you with an extensive DVD library in case you can't find anything on DSTV. There is an honesty bar and snack bar if you get thirsty or peckish. I also noticed a gas braai which presumably can be used by guests next to the pool as well as a computer with Internet access.

The yummy breakfast was included in the rates and the guesthouse offers dinner (pre-ordered only) but we didn't eat in.

A number of the guests were businessmen and certainly the location, service and facilities would make it an attractive option for business. As a family, the guesthouse worked well for us too!

Room Tip: We stayed in number 2 which was very close to the common lounge which was very practical for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
31
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

See More Guest House is beautiful, and so are the hosts. The rooms are well decorated and the hospitality was Top Notch. We were given five star treatment and we had a splendid time.

Room Tip: Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByteBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2011

A great stay for the Buffalo Regatta - see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Vosloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Excellent communication in advance of stay with good email contact, and arranging of dinner in advance. Unfortunately downhill from there. Made to feel very unwelcome on arrival, told there was no WiFi when there is and dinner was pretty poor. Also made to feel like us being there was an imposition. Cockroaches in the bathroom were an unwelcome surprise. Would not recommend this place, surprised it has such good reviews.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See-More-Guest-House, Owner at See More Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
This guest was contacted immediately after this review was posted, in order to get to the bottom of the situation. The complaints were discussed in a constructive manner which allowed us to get to the very heart of the issue, which, in the end, turned out to be more of a misunderstanding than anything else.

For example, our WiFi was up and working the whole time, but somewhere down the line the info got muddled and the guests got the wrong message.

We feel that the grievances of this particular guest were dealt with in the most sensitive manner and that there was a positive outcome in the end.

We appreciate all reviews, as they give as an opportunity to better our services for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso County, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

By far one of the coolest, nicest places I have ever stayed throughout my world travels.

Stayed 3 nights (wish it would have been more) during my 2010 summer world cup holiday with 3 of my friends and had a blast here. It's family owned and operated, and they maintain it very well. All the rooms are very nice, the breakfast is superb, and the location couldn't be better.

It's a 5 minute walk to the beach (Indian Ocean) and a 20 minute walk to Downtown East London. It's in an incredibly safe neighborhood, in a lush green area (we actually saw some monkeys in the area), and it honestly reminded me of the luxury beach houses in San Diego, CA. East London was also one of the only places in SA where we felt safe enough to walk around during the day and night, and the owners give great advice on places to check out. If you want to stay in for the night the ownders keep an enormous volume of DVDs to watch, keep a fridge stocked full of goodies, and leave a nice menu of places that deliver. It was such a treat staying here.

When reflecting on my trip to SA and whether or not I would be back, my trip to East London and particularly See More Guest House gives me a reason to say yes. It's the perfect location for travelers that want to get a relaxing, safe SA vacation next to numerous wild life reserves without all the big city hassle and uncleanliness Joburg and Capetown have to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Comfortable room with plenty of space and mini kitchen. Tons to eat for breakfast. Great den with lots of dvd's, wifi. Pretty house in a nice and safe neighborhood. I'd be happy to return & wish I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 14 in East London
37 reviews
1.6 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to See More Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about See More Guest House

Property: See More Guest House
Address: 14 Montrose Avenue | Bunkers Hill, East London 5241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — See More Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of tropical gardens rich with bird life, with views of the Indian Ocean just beyond the valley, See More Guest House is a haven of peace and tranquility on the Eastern Cape coast. Whether you are a leisure traveler or a busy executive looking for a quiet environment after a busy day, you will experience sheer luxury in a relaxed friendly environment, guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your See More Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing