We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near perfect from arrival to departure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Loerie Hide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Loerie Hide
Ranked #7 of 138 East London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“Near perfect from arrival to departure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed over 1 night at the Loerie Hide Guest House Oct. 10th with Sue and her staff. Great, spacious room overlooking the valley filled with birdlife, excellent bed (not unimportant when measuring 6ft4) and breakfast. All at a very affordable price. Flexible checkout and warm hospitality for free. Keep it up! Viola & Johnny

Room Tip: choose the Safari Room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
43
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a joy to stay at Sue's sanctuary in East London.
Waking up to the birdsong and freshest of air on the slopes of the Nahoon River was a joy.
The room was fabulous. The linen perfect.
And Sue as obliging as anyone could wish for.
She recommended Le Petit for dinner and it was fantastic. Walking distance.
Will definitely be back next time.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Colonial Room. Private with lovely outdoor space to sit. The rondavel is smaller bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SesameCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Love staying at Loerie Hide! Have stayed on many occasions. Very relaxed. The surroundings are wonderful and peaceful. Always sleep well when there. Love the atmosphere. Sue and her staff, especially Monica make one's stay a pleasure. Thank you Sue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a beautiful little retreat. The rooms are spacious and decorated in such a style that you wish your home had a leather chair just like the one at Loerie Hide. The bathroom of our room boasted a shower and a luxurious bath! The hostess, was friendly, helpful and obliging. The view from our room was as if you were high up in the treetops, surrounded by lush greenery. Breakfast was lovely and overall a very good stay. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

5* luxury! Huge room, beautiful big bathroom with massive bath and shower. Huge bed, nice big flat screen and a wooden outdoor balcony with a forest view. All at a great price. Super service, friendly hostess and sumptuous breakfast: What more could anyone want

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our way back to KZN. The rooms are lovely and the gardens are beautiful. Unfortunately we only spent one night here. We had a very nice breakfast and Sue and her staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend them if you are looking for a place to stay in East London.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a fabulous stay with Sue and her team. They went out of their way to accommodate our special requests and that made all the difference to our trip. Delicious breakfasts. Our room was well equipped and spacious. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the enormous Safari Room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uiseC_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#9 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
See More Guest House
See More Guest House
#4 of 138 in East London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loerie Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loerie Hide

Property: The Loerie Hide
Address: 2B Sheerness Road | Bonnie Doon, East London, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Loerie Hide 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Loerie Hide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing