We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder this B&B is no. 1.”
Review of The Loerie Hide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Loerie Hide
Ranked #8 of 143 East London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“No wonder this B&B is no. 1.”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I have been traveling a long time in Africa. South Africa is the bright at the end of the tunnel. Our first hotel in Africa was in a big chain in Kruger. Loerie Hide was then the 2nd accommodation.

In comparison, Loerie hide has everything better than the big chain hotel. The room we had was so beautifully decorated that I just wanna be snugged in bed.

The simple breakfast was so tasty and it was served in a beautifully set up dinning room.

We were given loads of guidances by the owner of where to stay and what to do on our way down to Hermanus.

This Bed and Breakfast is one of our favorite. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
44
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I love staying in this B&B, the scenery and decor would make one think you are in the Kruger Park. Serene surroundings, lots of birds if you are into nature, dont forget to take your binoculars! The only thing that gets me is the steps, trying to get your cases up and down is a little of a nightmare, but overhaul a fantastic get away either for business or vacation.

Room Tip: The Safari room is my favourite! Big & spacious, highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bungy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stopped here on the way from Durban to Port Elizabeth for one night. The guesthouse is well located in a nice and quiet area. The rooms are huge and very well equiped, even with european plugs. Every room is designed with a different motto. We stayed in the safari room, which even had a big balcony. The breakfast is served in a very nice dining area and cooked freshly.

The prices (even in the honesty fridge) are very reasonable. The good reviews are absolutely well-deserved and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamburg_girl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and were at the Loerie Hide for three nights and thought it was a beautiful place to stay. Set in a lovely terraced garden, the room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and the trips Sue and Nigel suggested worked out well. The Rainers really do go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicamarkwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This Little guest house is wonderful, great staff and wonderful owners!
We arrived quite shook up after a hail storm,, which banged up our car, and this was the place to calm down and relax.

The rooms are very comfortable and generous in size. The decoration is very nice as well. Hot breakfast is served in the family house, which is very nice and the employees and hostesses are very nice and friendly, and it felt very luxurious.

They have a very nice pool which we wish we could have utulized more weather permitting, but the sunny day we had we spent by the pool, very very nice.

WIFI is free and available in their rooms, which was a great surprise!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chubbyseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We had such a nice stay of two nights in The Loerie Hide. We had a beautiful room, set in this beautiful garden, it was too cold to swim in the swimming pool though. Great breakfast, good service, nice staff. Also close to a shopping street and the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonjaenbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I organized a romantic getaway for my parents for their 25th anniversary. I requested lots of extras to make the weekend very special for them (one of which was a candle-lit dinner on their private deck). Sue (the host) was all too happy to oblige and definitely went the extra mile to make the weekend exceptional. My parents said that the B&B was of a very high standard and that they enjoyed their stay immensely.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackcat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
See More Guest House
See More Guest House
#3 of 143 in East London
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arum Guest House
Arum Guest House
#5 of 143 in East London
34 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Hampton
The Hampton
#2 of 143 in East London
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loerie Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loerie Hide

Property: The Loerie Hide
Address: 2B Sheerness Road | Bonnie Doon, East London, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Loerie Hide 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Loerie Hide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing