We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast like a King”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quarry Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quarry Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
East London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast like a King”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

An excellent breakfast served here with a stunning spread - good variety and friendly service.
The location on a good day cannot be beaten with views of the Lake and birds everywhere.
Probably a "best kept secret" breakfast location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HambaEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your positive and cheerful comments about our breakfast and the venue. Quarry Lake Inn is indeed priveleged to have a unique position in this little gem of nature, which we are delighted to be able to share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
39
8
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I'd like to give this place a 3.5 rating but can't figure out how to do it.

Not a bad place as the first four adjectives in my title indicate but I expect more from four star accommodation. Below I've listed some examples of where the service was lacking and could definately be improved. We'd just come from a cheaper, 3 star accommodation in Port Elizabeth which offered all of these services to a higher standard so I don't see why the Quarry Inn couldn't have done the same:

- The rooms had almost none of the toiletries that you would generally expect (although they did offer a small selection of fresh fruit daily which was nice). I was surprised to see that my room had no shampoo or shower gel at all - fortunately I had brought my own.

- The selection of TV channels was really limited

- When we wanted to go down to the bar - which closes at 7.45 pm - for a sun downer at about 6 pm we were told that we couldn't use it for some reason and that there was a minibar in our room. We'd need to use that and just sit on the covered deck outside. Since they advertised the bar service in the information packs in the rooms, I thought that this was poor showing

- I was travelling with my elderly parents. I'd booked a separate room for them and when we got there they allocated them the double room. This would have been fine except that it was up a flight of stairs whereas my room was on the ground floor. There was no difference between the two rooms at all and if there was a lift available, they didn't point it out to us.

- Breakfast was mediocre. I'd give it a 6 out of 10. Bacon all dry and unappetising, soft poached egg too hard etc etc

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thankyou for your positive comments about Quarry lake Inn.
With regard to your concerns,: Our staff are trained to oblige with any requests, and I am sure we could have arranged a ground floor room on request. Our TV Channels conform to the normal "Hotel Bouquet" subscription, whereby the most appropriate 9 channels are pre-selected. All our guests are most welcome to use the deck at any time, and drinks are available from our Main Honesty Bar or from Mini-Bars in the rooms. Hair and Body gel is contained in a dispenser attached to the wall in the shower. We have recently introduced a small bottle of the same into the basket of guests amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been staying at The Quarry Lake Inn for many years. They consistently provide excellent service and all the staff make you feel at home. The quiet surrounds filled with sounds of nature, allows for complete relaxation. I will continue to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edenbauristhene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thankyou very much for your positive review. We value your comments even more so as you have been a regular and long-standing guest at Quarry lake Inn. We will continue to strive to do our best in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything you need, with quality service. From Check in to out, the Staff are efficient and friendly. No better way to start the day than have a breakfast overlooking the Quarry.
My favorite and place of choice to stay in East London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging comments which are much appreciated !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had booked adjacent rooms both with King Size Beds, but this is not what we were allocated. When questioning this with the receptionist she said we pre-selected the wrong rooms thus it was our own fault for not getting what we wanted! In the end we got what we had requested but with no apology from the receptionist. Further King Size beds does not qualify to single beds pushed together. It is a lovely establishment pity about the dreadful attitude of the receptionist.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erika152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We value your comments about your stay at Quarry Lake Inn. Our realtime booking system cannot allocate adjacent rooms, only certain room types. However, I do apologise that all was not as you would have wished upon arrival. We have generally experienced an overwhelming success with our staff/guest relationships, but certain blemishes can occur, which we do address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stay at Quarry lake Inn every time I travel to East London because it is centrally situated for my business, extremely comfortable, secure and peaceful and I can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review, which is much appreciated. We value you as a long-standing client and trust that you will continue to stay with us, and to soon experience the comfort of one of our newly-upgraded rooms !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second visit to Quarry Lake Inn and what has stood out both times are three things:
1) the superb quality rooms
2) the excellent breakfasts
3) the friendly and professional staff
The setting of the establishment on the rehabilitated quarry now creating its own lush vegetation and bird life make it perfect East London base while on business or holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review which we value a great deal. Best of luck and good wishes in your travels from all of us at Quarry Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
511 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 13 in East London
36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#10 of 13 in East London
153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mpongo Private Game Reserve
Mpongo Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in East London
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Lake Inn

Property: Quarry Lake Inn
Address: Quartzite Drive, off Pearce Street, | PO Box 20833, East London 5201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarry Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quarry Lake Inn is a 4 star property, overlooking the Lake in a quiet suburb of East London. All 16 rooms are luxuriously appointed and have views over the lake , garden, or pool. Each room is equipped with a mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilties, wi-fi, air-con, hairdryer, TV, ensuite bathroom with separate shower. Conference Facilties consist of a state of the art conference room, with overhead projector, sound, drop-down motorised screen, flip-boards. Conference lunches can be enjoyed on the deck overlooking the lake . Secure Parking, airport shuttle arranged, dinner can be ordered in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quarry Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing