We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarry Lake Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quarry Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth
1 review
“Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything you need, with quality service. From Check in to out, the Staff are efficient and friendly. No better way to start the day than have a breakfast overlooking the Quarry.
My favorite and place of choice to stay in East London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging comments which are much appreciated !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    71
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
39
8
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had booked adjacent rooms both with King Size Beds, but this is not what we were allocated. When questioning this with the receptionist she said we pre-selected the wrong rooms thus it was our own fault for not getting what we wanted! In the end we got what we had requested but with no apology from the receptionist. Further King Size beds does not qualify to single beds pushed together. It is a lovely establishment pity about the dreadful attitude of the receptionist.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erika152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We value your comments about your stay at Quarry Lake Inn. Our realtime booking system cannot allocate adjacent rooms, only certain room types. However, I do apologise that all was not as you would have wished upon arrival. We have generally experienced an overwhelming success with our staff/guest relationships, but certain blemishes can occur, which we do address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stay at Quarry lake Inn every time I travel to East London because it is centrally situated for my business, extremely comfortable, secure and peaceful and I can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review, which is much appreciated. We value you as a long-standing client and trust that you will continue to stay with us, and to soon experience the comfort of one of our newly-upgraded rooms !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second visit to Quarry Lake Inn and what has stood out both times are three things:
1) the superb quality rooms
2) the excellent breakfasts
3) the friendly and professional staff
The setting of the establishment on the rehabilitated quarry now creating its own lush vegetation and bird life make it perfect East London base while on business or holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review which we value a great deal. Best of luck and good wishes in your travels from all of us at Quarry Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Regrettably we were never told of renovations taking place until we checked in and read about it, in our allocated room, The notification of renovations stipulated they'd commence at 10am . We had a good Saturday and Sunday night BUT were rudely awoken at 7:30 am Monday by workmen, around and above us. At much inconvenience to us we were moved to another room -across way from laundry. The following morning rowdy staff in laundry awoke us early.
Staff at front desk were great and really accommodating,. Breakfasts were excellent.
Rooms close to front door are fine if you awake early as they are extremely noisy. Rooms are not sound proof. We had to ask neighbour to reduce TV volume at 11pm. For what we paid this stay was dissapointing.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review Quarry Lake Inn. We appreciate your positive comments about our breakfast and our Reception staff
I very much regret that you were disturbed by our renovations , during which time we had tried to minimise the impact on our guests.
Fortunately these renovations are now complete, and our two beautifully appointed bed/bathrooms ensuite, can be seen pictured on our Trip Advisor page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

WE love the Place, as it wasnt so big to make you feel small, and it wasnt so small to make you feel alone.
Wonderful breakfast, place, service.....
Thank you so much, we were with all my family and everything was just perfect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank abuelograham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We so much enjoyed meeting you and your family : May you have great travels through the world !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Well located and quiet, ideal for a peaceful nights sleep. I use it regularly. Everything works and the room imenities are comprehensive. Breakfasts are good and cheery. The real pleasure is that you know what to expect and consistency is delivered. Not too large which I enjoy but often fully booked. Denis S

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thankyou for your positive response. We do endeavour to keep consistent in the services and amenities that we offer to our guests, and really appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you back at Quarry lake Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#2 of 13 in East London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#10 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mpongo Private Game Reserve
Mpongo Private Game Reserve
#4 of 41 in East London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Lake Inn

Property: Quarry Lake Inn
Address: Quartzite Drive, off Pearce Street, | PO Box 20833, East London 5201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarry Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quarry Lake Inn is a 4 star property, overlooking the Lake in a quiet suburb of East London. All 16 rooms are luxuriously appointed and have views over the lake , garden, or pool. Each room is equipped with a mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilties, wi-fi, air-con, hairdryer, TV, ensuite bathroom with separate shower. Conference Facilties consist of a state of the art conference room, with overhead projector, sound, drop-down motorised screen, flip-boards. Conference lunches can be enjoyed on the deck overlooking the lake . Secure Parking, airport shuttle arranged, dinner can be ordered in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Quarry Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing