We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better in Johannesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Braamfontein
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel needs a face lift. Its also in the wrong part of town i.e you dont feel safe to walk out. The hotel takes advantage of this by having you book taxis and transport via their concierge and the rates are not competitive to what you can arrange locally. The staff were polite but you sometimes have to ask more than once to make sure you get what you want. The swimming pool looks great on the website but is nothing more than a plunge pool albeit a good view off the top floor. Check out the hotels around Melrose arch there is more to walk out to in the evenings. Good restaurants in melrose arch area include The Quest, momo,s and JB,s for beers and more casual bar food.

Room Tip: I had a top floor room which was spacious and up away from traffic noise. They are all suites but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Location is not the safest, and the hotel is very dated. Dont expect much- you can get a much better hotel for the same price close by.

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel was nice, rooms spacious and comfortable, great view, pool terrace on 24th floor was very nice, cocktails not great, but still enjoyable. Location wasn't great though, nothing much around and not many people out either, we were a bit nervous to go out for a walk. Good shuttle service, we went to Mellville for dinner which was nice, but the drive there was through dark deserted areas, very strange in a city with a population of 6 million... Helpful staff.

Room Tip: High up to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenSarah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We flew into Johannesburg from NYC and traveled all around South Africa. An amazing trip that was started and completed out of OR Tambo international airport. We stayed at the Protea Hotel Parktonian at both bookends of the trip and enjoyed our stay tremendously.

The staff was amazing and courteous, which is pretty typical of all of South Africa from our experience! We had a beautiful room with the most amazing view - the view was tremendous and gorgeous. We were on the 30+ floor both times and had huge windows throughout the suite (all rooms are suites!!!!) and a balcony. The twinkling lights of Johannesburg were beautiful. The suite itself is a little run down and outdated, but who comes to South Africa to stay in a hotel room?! Especially for the price we paid, it was a bargain. The food was sufficient (at the end of the trip I think we had become a little disgusted of hotel meals after 17 days of traveling, but I do recall the first night praising a grilled cheese and my fiance loving his cheeseburger). The bar was fun and we met plenty of kind people who were willing to chat and have other light conversation. The bartender was fun and kept our drinks full and us cheery. Also there is the rooftop bar, deck, pool and full 360 degree view of Joburg. It's very beautiful and always humbling, even for a New Yorker who loves her skyline.

Now as far as why only 3 stars out of 5, the location is not great. When booking the trip I couldn't bare to book a hotel at the airport. That seemed too depressing and utilitarian. I wanted us to explore Johannesburg and after reading up on Newtown and other areas in Johannesburg I thought this location seemed like there could be a lot of culture and experience. So very wrong. We spent 2 days at this hotel at the end of the trip, we came in and were excited to explore Newtown and the nearby Oriental Market, from our research it sounded like Bushwick/Williamsburg in Brooklyn - dirty but artsy. The Oriental Market read of a beautiful outdoor market with silks and spices. After the hotel consierge warned us that we should not walk to Newtown ourselves, though it maps out as less than a 10 min walk we concede and are dropped off by the hotel van (we were charged of course). That would be all and good, but we had expressed excitement to explore the Newtown area and see all of the artwork, etc etc etc. We are dropped off and there is nothing. There are two restaurants open and a cafe...It's Friday. There is nothing that happens in Newtown (for tourists) unless it's Saturday or Sunday. We walked to the Oriental Market, it's filled with junk, literally junk that we could find here in NYC. There was nothing cultural or special about it. 3 hours later when we were picked up we felt disappointed and frustrated that we weren't advised that our timing was off. Then again, our research was obviously lacking and we chalked it up to a misadventure of a day. That evening we decide shake it all off and let's go to the Sanborn Mall and get dinner and pick up trinkets for friends and family back home. This came as a big surprise that Malls are very big in South Africa, partially as they are a safe haven, as Johannesburg definitely has an air of danger about it's streets. We typically wouldn't travel somewhere and hunt down a mall to hang out in, but this was an exception. There is a complimentary shuttle (as per the sign on the concierge desk) that it picks up at the hotel at 6pm, drops off at the mall and picks back up from the mall at 9pm. We ask for that service, retire to our room to relax for awhile, take a swim in the relaxing pool and get a drink at the rooftop bar. We jump in the van at 6:30 (after waiting 30 min for the driver to get found) and away we go to the mall - yay! We confirm we're getting picked up as per the sign at 9pm and the service is complimentary. Everything is in order, and we are starving so we hit up a seafood restaurant and finish dinner around 7:30/7:45. We're ready to peruse the wares and enjoy window shopping. Oddly enough we notice stores starting to begin the closing out process. We discover all stores close at 8 pm. We run to a sovineir shop and desparately make a couple of very odd purchases and then we sit in a courtyard for an hour until the van comes to collect us. Again, there was no logic as to why would they pick you up 1 hour after the mall is closed? Very frustrating for us, but considering everything else we were able to do on this trip, this is but a small scratch on the page.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Needed to fly to JHB for an urgent meeting and booked at the Parktonian as our meeting was literally just around the corner. I found there service was excellent and the staff where
all extremely helpfull! All that was needed you could find at this hotel. Gym, a pool along with beautifull views of JHB, a bar, great confrence/board rooms, a resturant, gift shop, hotel shuttels,etc. If there was something I needed I could just ask! Almost felt like a home away
from home!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed 2 nights at the Parktonian as i had an event in the next street. The Parktonian is now a bit old fashioned and consists of 'suites'/. however other than an empty fridge and a sink there is nothing else in the kitchen that says suite. No crockery or cutlery and just a couple of wine glasses. But as i didn't expect a suite this want a problem. The rooms are fine, large, bright and reasonably clean. Staff friendly and helpful. The Gautrain you can pick up at Rose Bank after a substitute bus service from virtually outside the hotel, although beware as this doesn't run at weekend and the staff seemed not to know this. Good gym on the sky deck, and cocktail bar there too. All in all a good stay but only if you need to be in the CBD. A couple of negatives; leaving my room one morning there were two (i assume) members of the cleaning staff sitting outside my room on floor. The next morning a dirty knife on the floor outside my room. Also there was construction going on outside at 10pm on friday night! Go figure!

Room Tip: Higher the better, great view of the Highveld.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

A good hotel, room was nice, helpful staff, it was just what we needed for one night, even overpriced during the World Cup. One downside anyway, they forgot to book our transfer to the airport, causing a bit of stress.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braamfontein
1.0 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#15 of 66 in Johannesburg
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite

Address: 120 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Parktonian All-Suite)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Braamfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Braamfontein
Price Range: $80 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All Suites - The "Suite" Life. The Protea Hotel Parktonian offers service levels and friendliness which will make your stay a unique experience, whether you are staying for leisure, business or hosting a conference. The hotel has 300 suites allowing for a true "Jozi" experience. All suites are one bedroomed units with a separate lounge, bathroom, work desk, leather chair and service area which includes a granite counter, mini-bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Personal safe. Individual heating/cooling on the rooms. 3 meals per day are served in the Orchards Restaurant. 24 hour room service. Our outside pool and Skybar is on the 24th floor offering amazing 360 degree views of Johannesburg and the surrounding area.The hotel offers easy access to the N1 freeway and a host of activities nearby from theatres, sports stadia and universities. Close to the historical Constitutional Court. Free shuttle bus in the evenings (Mon - Fri) to entertainment areas close by. Free morning/afternoon shuttle to office within a 10kms radius. Free shuttle bus by arrangement from/to Gautrain Park Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parktonian Hotel
Protea Hotel Braamfontein
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite Braamfontein, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing