We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have said 'good' if I could ”
Review of Lamunu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamunu
Ranked #1 of 1 Braamfontein B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Easy hotel has a great location in the middle of rapidly renewing Braamfontein. You can walk to lots of attractions and places: Constitution Hill, JoBurg theater, Wits University, the main train station and much more, and it's a lot safer than it used to be. The hotel is simple, elegant and no-fuss. No frills: no in-room dining or laundry so no phone in the room, for example. Clean modern rooms and bathrooms but there's no closet and the room is pretty small. The restaurant and bar attached have good food, including a really good buffet breakfast at a reasonable price. Friendly and helpful front desk: You can borrow the hard- to-find South African adaptor for a 100 rand deposit, which is handy. Downside: it can be noisy, including at the bar downstairs, so get a room on a higher floor. And while I thought it was reasonably priced, I was told the nearby all suite hotel was not that much more expensive, would be worth investigating.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank APalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very nice hotel BUT standard have gone done since it went to easyHotel you have to pay for cleaning service why not incl it with the rate. I had to extend as my plans in Johannesburg changed and was told my room wont be cleaned as I have to book a day before even tho I was going to pay for it

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Extremely well priced rooms that are spartan but clean and have everything a budget traveller needs including international power adapters. Well located on De Korte Street in Braamfontein across the road from the Branson centre and with a bar underneath that opens up to a courtyard of three other restaurants. The markets are also a two minute walk as are a couple of funky bar/nightclubs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are better to avoid the music from the Lamanu bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrencammack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Rooms are OK (nothing special), with minimal space, but modern and well-designed. The location is good as it is in the city centre, but the staff cannot give any information on things to do (e.g. I was looking for a gym). Besides, the music from the club downstairs is extremely disturbing.
Internet (which you pay for) does not work in the room and even in the lobby it is extremely slow. For somebody who needs to work this hotel is a no-go!
Even though we had informed that we were arriving in the morning (from Europe) we had to wait five hours for our room.
I would only recommend this hotel to people who want the central location, but have no expectations whatsoever.

Room Tip: If you need internet make sure it works in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ares65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is really affordable and at a great location. 10 minutes walking to the Park Station, where you can get the Gautrain. It is also very close to Nelson Mandela Bridge and Wits University. Very simple, however modern, good and extremely affordable. If you need wi-fi, room service, printing something, you will have to pay extra, however it is still quite affordable. There is great restaurant/bar as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent 4 nights here with a group of 21 attending a conference nearby. Hotel in great central location, rooms were really great - basic, but bright, spacious, clean. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant/bar was great. Only downsides were a very noisy bathroom fan, and no wifi in the rooms. The wifi in the lobby (for a fee) played up a bit. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 816Lucy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review easyHotel Johannesburg.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and value all feedback received from our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Keep spreading the word.

Kind regards,
Carmen Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I loved my stay at the Easy Hotel as it is now called. However one must be advised that the rooms are generally suitable for one person. All rooms are standard with a full-size bed which could not really accommodate two people and the main issue would be that the bathroom does not have a door on it. For one person this hotel was the best option I could find in Joburg. I felt very safe, the hotel was beautiful and clean. Very modern. Would absolutely recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingjoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braamfontein
0.3 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
0 mi away
Once in Joburg
Once in Joburg
#1 of 1 in Braamfontein
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamunu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamunu

Address: 90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Braamfontein
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Braamfontein
Price Range: $61 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamunu 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
easyHotel De Korte Street offers simplified comfort in a stylishly fun environment, all decked out in a retro colour-palette – bold oranges set strikingly against blacks and browns – and quirky details. Situated in the heart of Johannesburg and within walking distance of the Nelson Mandela Bridge, it’s easy getting to the nearby theatres, night spots, restaurants, major universities and prominent courts; its the ultimate in cool urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Lamunu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamunu Hotel Johannesburg
Lamunu Braamfontein, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing