We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Comfortable in the Heart of Bramfontien (Johannesburg)”
Review of Lamunu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamunu
Ranked #1 of 1 Braamfontein B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Previously "Lamunu Hotel" this city centre hotel right next to the trendy Neighbourgoods Market, Juta Street exstablishments, Puma Social Club & great independant coffee houses offers excellent value for money. At only around £35 per night with free underground parking this comfortable and safe hotel is our favourite when visiting Joburg. The rooms are clean and tidy with modern decor. If you want clean towels & the bed made this is R50 extra per day. Very nice breakfast and coffee can be had at a number of cafes just a short walk away. The Joburg Theatre is also close by. A short 5 minute drive to Museum Africa (you could walk - but take care). The skeletan staff are freindly and helpful. Not a place to lounge and spend time - but perfect for a few nights in the city and exploring the up and coming Bramfontein area. Easy drive to all other areas of the city via Jan Smuts Drive 5 minutes away. Beds are comfortable with in room AC unit (also heats).

Only two warnings for visitors:
We went in July - and it was cold at night (fine under the duvet).
The bathroom vent is on constantly so you have a ventilation hum (no door on bathroom) (This was in room 210 we have stayed before in Room 203 and don't remember this problem)

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 2nd floor have access to a large shared roof terrace (I think the low 200's).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Manager at Lamunu, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Property by sharing your experience not only at our Hotel but also the Braamfontein area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to easyHotel Johannesburg, CBD.

Warm regards,
Carmen Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: De kamers op de tweede verdieping aan de voorzijde kijken uit op de straat en hebben een dakterras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tientje84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos virados para a rua principal são sujeitos a algum barulho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ixia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murilo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braamfontein
0.3 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamunu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamunu

Address: 90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Braamfontein
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Braamfontein
Price Range: $60 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamunu 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
easyHotel De Korte Street offers simplified comfort in a stylishly fun environment, all decked out in a retro colour-palette – bold oranges set strikingly against blacks and browns – and quirky details. Situated in the heart of Johannesburg and within walking distance of the Nelson Mandela Bridge, it’s easy getting to the nearby theatres, night spots, restaurants, major universities and prominent courts; its the ultimate in cool urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lamunu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamunu Hotel Johannesburg
Lamunu Braamfontein, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing