We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanaga Farm Stall

Nanaga Farm Stall
Ranked #5 of 34 Shopping in Eastern Cape
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Addo/Colchester/Schotia for lunch, and it was really awesome. My dad stopped there for years, before their renovation, and the reputation I'd heard of didn't disappoint.

Good facilities and a great place for a lunch break. Well worth a visit!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank purplecat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    6
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Rest Stop Port Elizabeth - Grahamstown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous farm store with the best pies ever. They are really geared to handle volumes of travelers needing loo breaks and leg stretches whilst being able to select from a huge selection of pies, cakes various take outs etc. the on site restaurant is also a great breakfast option with superb value for your buck. Loads of safe parking and large premises offering many options of farm stall fare plus much, much more. Well worth planning to make this part of your trip

Only annoying part is having to pay R1 to use the toilets which is both insulting and probably wrongly based on old ideas that free toilets will attract bus loads of undesirables. Even with the locked prison mentality the toilets weren't exactly spotless. Having taken our time & money it is just not acceptable to be agitated over nonsense especially since most people use credit cards and don't carry pockets of R1 coins. Come on Nanaga, you need to change your attitude or face lots of critiscism.

Helpful?
Thank GerryGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were encouraged to stop at Nanaga on out way out of Addo. Maybe my expectations were a little high.

We paid to use the loo and the shop was quite expensive. But overall they had a good selection and I believe the pies are to die for :-)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AntheaTaitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
582 reviews
315 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Farm stalls are normally places that you stop off along the way to your destination of choice, but it should come as no surprise that more and more folk make the farm stall their destination, such is its good name throughout Algoa country.
It's only 53 kms from Port Elizabeth, along the N2 which links Port Elizabeth to East London, which makes it easily accessible. Although there are roadworks on the Port Elizabeth side, it took us no more than three quarters of an hour to get there. I would travel twice that distance to stock up with their pies (legendary in the E Cape) their home brewed ginger beer, their chutneys and their relishes, not to talk about their wonderful free range eggs - all at very affordable prices. Nanaga Farm stall has a really informative website - so you can see what products of theirs are on offer and their prices, then plan accordingly - but nothing actually prepares you for the range of other produce that are displayed on their shelves - like pickled quails eggs, and olives stuffed with garlic!
The bakery does a roaring trade - pies are sold fresh or frozen and there is a wonderful selection of sweet treats to be had as well.
The restaurant serves up super food - in large portions - and it is just so pleasant sitting there in this large barn-shaped building with views over the immediate play area for the children (real tractors!!!!) and the distant green countryside.The chandeliers are also quite eye-catching - very rustic and reminiscent of earlier times when gran's kitchen gleamed with all the bottles of preserves on the shelves - each light bulb of the chandelier had a fitting of a Consol preserving jar - with each of the individual jars suspended from a central circular bit of wood!
The water feature using old galvanised iron watering cans was also a very attractive addition to the central atrium area, and well used by the resident sparrow poulation!
Judging from the size of the restaurant, I would say they do brisk business over the weekends, so I am glad we went during a weekday so we could browse at leisure and enjoy an unhurried meal.
There were lots of tourist pamphlets to be had and the attractions of the region were well promoted : the restrooms were clean and real orchids were placed on the vanity area - a super touch! In fact, I see Nanaga as more of an attraction than a ordinary farmstall.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilldutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE place to stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Simply the best pies in the Eastern Cape. If you’re driving the N2 then this is the place to stop for lunch and if you are on your way to visit friends or relatives then stock-up here, they’ll welcome you with open arms!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanaga Farm Stall also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Bathurst, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Nanaga Farm Stall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing