We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience for the second time”

Mile High Grill & Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mile High Grill and Inn sits atop the Jerome hill on Main Street in the old Clinkscale Mercantile building, built in 1899. Opening in 2004, we have made many renovations while trying to keep the old focal points and uniqueness of the original architecture. We aren't hard to find with our beautiful red building and black and white awnings! Feel free to grab some lavender from our herb garden located in the front window box!The Mile High Inn is located above the Grill and accessible through a separate entrance, though all check-ins are done at the Grill. Here you will step back in time with the Victorian styled Inn with high ceilings, original oil paintings and most importantly, the cozy, comfortable beds. It is a great spot to have a romantic getaway. Oh, and if you feel (but can't see) a little something rubbing against your ankles, don't fear! It's only Skipp, the ghost kitty.
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent experience for the second time”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Again, the staff, Josh in particular, made our visit to Mile High Grill another great experience. The breakfast burger and onion rings were fantastic and the drink specials were special. We wouldn't think of going anywhere else while visiting Jerome. Thanks, Mile High! (ps, check out the fan over the bar with the airplane propellers).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    222
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Soup & Sandwiches”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We dropped into the Mile High Grill during a recent wine tasting trip in the Verde Valley. Had a really good lunch, the Cuban Queen sandwich was excellent. The service was good as the restaurant was busy on the Saturday. Our friends also had good meals - Chicken Tortilla soup and Caesar Salad.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinotcanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
400 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD, FUN SETTING IN A CRAZY TOWN”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

First, you have to go to Jerome, AZ if you are anywhere near Sedona or the Grand Canyons. The mile-high town began as a mining
village built into the side of a mountain....with streets that zig-zag up and down the mountain...steep, curvy and picturesque. Today it is more of an 'artist' colony with restaurants, shops and 2 museums along the streets with storefronts reflecting their past.

The Mile High Grill & Inn at 309 Main Street is a hoot! The interior is funky with decorated walls. I sat at the bar...good choice as I could observe the entire room and the waitress was great. I could also watch as she made my favorite Cadillac Margarita to be sure it was potent---it was! with fresh limes and no sour mix. The menu is extensive. I had the 'Mile High Big A-s BBQ Bacon Burger" - a 1-pound burger topped with cheddar, BBQ sauce and bacon at $14.99 - couldn't finish it! There is a great appetizer called "When Pigs Fly", a dish of BBQ pork "wings" served with extra napkins...at $9.99 - a treat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Such bad service we finally left before we had a chance to order food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We heard this place recommended to us and others while walking around Jerome. I can say we were sorely disappointed, so much so we never even had a chance to try the food.

We stopped in 7:30 on a Saturday. Waited at the cramped little door for 3-5 minutes with people all around before someone came over to seat us. Then we were asked to move afte rbeing sat, no issue for us really. We understood it was a busy night and there were just 2 of us so we took the cramped table even with bigger ones available. We were sat in the middle of the restaurant near a wall right in front of the hostess stand, no menus given to us at this point. About 5-10 minutes in.

The bartender who sat us was busy at the bar but walked by several times, no menus offered or acknowledgement given. He was nice seating us but after that we pretty much didn't exist.
We looked around at the other tables that were being used (still 2 free tables open and it was a small place) and no one had any food, most drinks were more than half empty, and people looked rather unhappy. Only the people at the bar seemed to be enjoying themselves. In situations where we are considering leaving due to bad service I like to look at other patrons to see if its just us or others might be in a similar situation. Seemed most people here were in the same boat as us. We decided to wait it out a bit more considering it was Saturday and having worked in food service before I know things can be busy.

Then we watch a waitress set up a table for a large group and lay out 10 or so menus on the EMPTY table and then go start sweeping the floor behind our table. Still no menus or much acknowledgment of us being there after about 15 minutes of us sitting there.

At this point considering the place is small, the waitress was within ear shot the entire time and when we tried to get her attention we were ignored, watching her give menus to an empty table but not us, and then start cleaning instead of coming over to us, we just got up and left. They clearly didnt want our business.

The only positive experience we had here was petting the large lab tied up outside the door while waiting to be seated.

I can't give this place 1 star because I can't say how decent the food is but for the level of service, take your business elsewhere. We ended up eating at a little Mexican place (Vaquero's Grill and Cantina) about a block down same side of the road that had service above and beyond with incredible food and really reasonable prices. We enjoyed ourselves so much so here I would have tipped 100% if I could have afforded it. It was small, busy, and only had two people working the place and yet we were serviced fast, politely, and the mexican food was wonderful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PincPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromeorbust, Owner at Mile High Grill & Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
So sorry that we didn't demonstrate our usual stellar service. I understand how frustrating it can be to wait for service and you should have been attended to quickly. I will speak to the night staff about it and possibly put another person on that shift. Thank you for your review.
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Daily special was great”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived at lunchtime with a party of 6. Thinking our service might be a bit slow considering the situation, we were pleasantly surprised to get very quick and efficient service. All the meals...special, soup, burgers...were enjoyed by everyone. Interesting menu with lots of variety. Staff was quick and pleasant. Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mile High Grill & Inn also viewed

 

Been to Mile High Grill & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing