We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local healthy eatery”
Review of The Flatiron

The Flatiron
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Flatiron is owned and operated by Jerome locals, Chad & Abby. Our café is a unique historic space located in the heart of Jerome's business district. We serve traditional Italian espresso drinks with locally roasted Firecreek coffee, along with healthy breakfast and lunch options (organic, vegan & gluten free whenever possible!). We are open Thursday - Monday 8:30-3:30pm, always featuring a daily sweet treat, homemade soup, and creative culinary creations. We also offer catering services and an AirBnB vacation rental, The Flat, conveniently located directly above the café.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great local healthy eatery”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stopped in here for a snack before driving back to Scottsdale. What a wonderful surprise this turned out to be. The owners are well versed in organic/healthy/low-impact food and the menu is eclectic, without being intimidating.

Definitely a regular stop when we go to Jerome, from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    35
    12
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Where the locals go...”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Need a good cup of coffee or some freshly made breakfast grub? This is the place to go in Jerome, AZ. The owner is a long time resident who clearly loves her place and her customers. We went back several times, for coffee, food, and great conversation. Want to know what to REALLY see in the area? Meet the local artists who flock to the Flatiron and you'll find out! We will be back, and wish them continued success on a great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs some tweaking”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I think the service took awhile for breakfast fare. We ate outside , across the street from the corner location. I felt my food lacked salt and pepper and seasoning. Gluten free offerings weren't apparent, until we asked! This is something that would be helpful to those with dietary issues! I'm pretty sure I won't go back from my experience today.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Owner at The Flatiron, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your Flatiron experience. We try to please everyone and when it doesn't happen, I take it to heart. Twice on our menu, top of the front, bottom of the back, it indicates we have gluten-free options available. In fact, it says: Please ask...and I am always happy to let you know what we have for the day.
We have a very small kitchen where all the magic happens, and everything is prepared to order- everything is fresh, not pre-cooked. We have no microwave, no freezer, no fryer, no flat-top or any other industrial kitchen equipment. It is true, if you are in a rush, our establishment is not a good choice. There are Many things as restaurant owners we could do to "save time" - none of which delivers a better product.
Again, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I do hope you will return- with my invitation to sit up at the bar where you can observe the magic in the kitchen, have a complimentary cup of coffee and chat about your past experience with us.
Thank you for your review- we learn a little something from every one, good or bad.
Take care,
jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Arizona
Level Contributor
617 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,115 helpful votes
“What fun to find places like this quaint cafe !”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went to Jerome yesterday (8/9), and when it got close to noon, began searching for a place to eat lunch. We passed many interesting possibilities, but nixed them, as they were all playing loud music. Do not like blaring music. Maybe that's the style there in Jerome, but in one place, we could hear a table for four almost yelling while trying to carry on a conversation.
Came upon The Flatiron, and spotted an empty table for two by the window. Music was playing, but it was (as should be) in the background. We ordered two "Smoked Salmon Quesadilla"' which came with a small ultra fresh salad. These were so delicious! Lots of smoked salmon and incredible dill seasoning. Oh yum! If the scenic drive were not that arduous, we'd go tomorrow. We both hate root beer, but somehow, the weather, background and atmosphere tempted us to order that drink. It was very mild, tasty, and went wonderfully with the food. Service is super casual (lots of "help yourselves") but, in this setting that is perfect. We really enjoyed our delicious lunch in this tiny cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly little cafe”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped by coincidence while we were in Jerome, Az for coffee. The employees were friendly, the coffee was very good. Next time in Jerome and will order the steamed scrambles eggs and the pannini.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefrene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flatiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing