We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food”
Review of Haunted Hamburger

Haunted Hamburger
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Loved the food and there is outdoor seating and on the 2nd floor dining area the views were wonderful. My only complaint is the waitress seemed irritable and ignored our request for a high chair and when another waiter brought one (about 20 minutes later) we thought it was for us...nope...but he said we could have it since we asked first! So just chocking it up to someone was just having a bad day...we loved it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We have investigated the situation and action has taken, we apologize that you were not given a high chair right away and that the server was not super friendly. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you did enjoy the meal regardless. We hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    421
    120
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
441 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“Terrific Food in Jerome”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Haunted Hamburger is a "must" stop when visiting the historic town of Jerome, AZ. The burgers are thick and juicy and the sides served with them like awesome fries and tangy cole slaw are great accompaniments to the meal. Plenty of choices other than burgers are offered - even meatballs & spaghetti, but it seemed to us that most patrons go for the long list of burger options. We were there at the start of the July 4th weekend and it was very crowded - we waited about 1/2 hr. for our table. However, tables turn over quickly, service is very fast and efficient, and the wait is not bad. A good way to spend waiting time is to order a Bloody Mary at the bar. This drink is a meal itself with lots of garnishes and veggies adorning it. One of the very best I have ever had! The restaurant is housed in what was once a hotel and it had a legend of being haunted. This adds to the uniqueness of the place. We had fun there and had a fabulous and very filling lunch!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are so happy that you had a great lunch! Thank you for your patience as that was a very busy week and weekend for us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. See you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoy the best hot chocolate, burger, & view of the Verde Valley from on high.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The Jerome Palace (Haunted Hamburger) is such a unique little place and is a must do when visiting the area. It sits on one of the highest points in Jerome (elevation about 5500ft.) and has a spectacular view of the Verde Valley and you can even see the red rocks of Sedona in the distance. We live in the next small town and we always take our guests there. We especially love to go when there is a nip in the air so we can sit out on the porch and have a great cup of cocoa. The hamburgers are very good and they have a condiments bar so you can build your own deluxe burger. You have to get the twice baked potato, it is delish! If you don't like meat burgers, they have veggie burgers and all other kinds of food, too.
It's just a fun dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spaceodessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed multiple experiences with us. Thank you for taking the time to share with us as well as many future customers! We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great veiws and tasty burgers!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The wait to get seated here is always 30+ min, but it is because it is very popular and the food is great. For a historic town and restaurant they are very up with the times. When they take your name they also take your phone # and text you when your table is ready. You can also use their app to see how many people are a head of you. This way you can shop around near by while you wait. Loved that feature! Once we were seated the views were amazing. Can look out of the historic buildings into the whole valley. The service was fast too. Great margaritas and burgers! Monday nights the margaritas are only $1.99!! Love the condiment bar to pick your own toppings too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review! We are excited to hear that you enjoyed our new waiting list application! It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you so much for sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Long wait, average food.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our party of 5 waited about an hour during the lunch hour on a busy Saturday. Parties of 4 or less moved through much quicker. The staff however was very apologetic and tried to ease the tension by offering water. Didn't really help much. I had the famous "Haunted Hamburger" $12.00 . It was average. the meat was cook perfect but the presentation showed how busy the kitchen was. May go back again and give it another try if ever in Jerome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had to wait so long for a table. You do have the option of checking in with us and giving your cell, which you can then use to monitor your spot on the list trough our app while you walk around if you would like to. We are also sorry that the presentation was not up to par, your feedback is important to us and we really hope you give us another shot next time you are in Jerome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haunted Hamburger also viewed

 

Been to Haunted Hamburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing