We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome Side Attraction”

Audrey Headframe Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Ultimate Historic Jerome Tour
Ranked #7 of 37 things to do in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jerome, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awsome Side Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

First, I am a little biased, since myself, jay Kinsella and Mike Rollins actually built this park. But, we did it so people could get a look at something unique. With a grant from the Arizona Office of tourism, we capped the shaft with structural glass and lit it with a xenon arc light (same light that comes out of the top of the Luxor in Las Vegas). We also moved the Childs - Irving power generation station to the site and after pouring 37 yards of concrete, we set the equipment and built a building around it. This is the station that was decommissioned by APS in 2005(?) and it was donated the the Jerome Historical Society. So, check out the Jerome Historical Society's Audrey Headframe Park. It is free, but your small donation keeps the lights on!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank thebigdogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Worth the short stop to look down the mine shaft! Pull over and check it out! And it's free ! Great complete to a trip to the Douglas Mansion / Park.

Helpful?
1 Thank kmh_bflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
420 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Don't let reviews persuade you...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Five min's the most...pull over and check out the depth to the mine. Pretty amazing!! Tried to take a picture, to no avail as the depth goes on & on ......

When will you see this again!?

Helpful?
Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop--Don't Blink, You'll Miss It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just north of the Douglas Mansion, you'll find this little gem of an area that helps the mine-challenged understand just how far underground miners go to work. It's fenced, but free when open. Plexiglas or not, I just couldn't stand over the shaft opening, so call me a wimp! This is an attraction for both kids and adults.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun short stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was really interesting to look down a mining shaft as well as see various mining equipment---some of which had been used until relatively recently. Nice industrial photos to take.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audrey Headframe Park also viewed

 

Been to Audrey Headframe Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing