We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super cute tasting room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dionysian Cellars - CLOSED

Dionysian Cellars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dionysian Cellars was founded in 2007 by owner and winemaker Darin Evans with one goal in mind...to produce ultra premium wines. All wines are created in a Dionysian fashion with respect to each wines unique personality. We produce Barbera, Chardonnay, Tempranillo, Syrah, Pinot Noir, and Malbec and we are adding new and exciting varietals every year. Darin has been making estate wines for Freitas Vineyard since 2007.We offer Both Freitas Vinyards and Dionysian Cellars wine at our Jerome location. We hope to present Arizona and the world with more fantastic wines in the future!!
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super cute tasting room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I loved the nostalgia of this tasting room. Several of the wines were served out of beautiful
vintage decanters. In addition, you can pick the amount of wines you want to taste and pay accordingly. I highly recommend this place if you like great wine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1st visit to Jerome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had no idea what to expect coming into Jerome, but continued walking up the street until we found some people inside this great little place called Dionysian Cellars wine tasting. We decided to go in and boy are we glad we did! We tasted 5 different wines and honestly can say there was not a one we didn't like. The biggest treat was meeting and talking with Melissa who was very knowledgable and helped us pick the 5 we tasted. She was GREAT!!! We will be back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swattsvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made our trip to Jerome - outstanding wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We lived in CA for 20 years and were spoiled by wine tasting in Napa Valley and the surrounding area. We were visiting Prescott for the first time and did a day trip to Jerome. We were not expecting great wines, just the opportunity to have some fun wine tasting. We did not expect to find some the absolutely outstanding wines we found at Dionysian Cellars.

This shop tastes two wine brands:
http://freitasvineyard.com/ and
http://dionyiancellars.com (more info about them at http://www.oldtownwinecellar.com/About.html ).
Darin who creates the Dionysian line also is the master wine maker at Freitas vineyard.
We like the wines from both brands and ended up buying one of each.

Mellisa who poured our tastes gave us a lot of information about how they make their wines and how they use methods to create more European/Italian/French type wines (rather than CA/US type wines). She was very knowledgeable and it was easy to tell these wine makers were serious about their craft.

We did a 6 wine tastings (sharing the tastes) and were wowed by these exceptional wines. All the wines we tasted were very nice (2 whites and 6 reds overall) and we could easily imagine us drinking any of them, but we normally don't buy a bottle unless either we feel it is a good wine for a lower price or unless we are floored by the wine. The prices are higher here as they make small batches (small batches are more costly to make), priced roughly about $40 a bottle. We prefer red wines, but I also sometimes like nice Riesling that is a little sweet and fruity. Normally Chardonnays are too dry for me, but their Chardonnay was not as dry, it was clean and crisp though not sweet or fruity. I enjoyed it. We tried 4 of the reds and when we reached the Rays Mesa 2009 we loved it. We could just imagine having it with a good Italian pasta dinner. Rebecca gave us an extra tasting of the Malbec since we were buying a bottle and we were floored. I have only recently started to drink Malbecs (having been introduced to them during a trip to NYC by an Italian friend). This blew away the few Malbecs I have had in the last couple of months. In fact, we have not had such a wonderful wine for probably two decades since we lived in CA. We bought one of these also.

I highly encourage anyone stopping in Jerome to try out wine tasting at Dionysian Cellars, it is well worth the time spent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to experience wonderful Arizona wines.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were enjoying a day in Jerome when we stumbled upon this place. We were so impressed on what they had done to the place that we wanted to stay longer to enjoy it. We took the opportunity to experience some Arizona wines and were not disappointed, we took home a couple of bottles and have since ordered more to replace them. Melissa was wonderful at guiding us through the wines. She has a true passion for her craft.
This would be a great stop for tourist to try our Arizona wines if they don't have the time to do a winery tour of the region.
FYI. Watch the one stepdown when you enter and ladies there are convenient handbag hooks on the bar. The bathrooms are in a very clever place. You will have to go there to see what I mean.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing