We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O the smell of it all”

Bobby D's BBQ at the English Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bobby D's BBQ is a 90% scratch kitchen, family owned and operated. All of our meats are hand trimmed, rubbed and smoked on premise. We have delicious sandwiches, salads, and entrees. The specialty of the house is our slow-smoked, St. Louis cut spare ribs, they literally fall off the bone. We also feature a full bar, 8 microbrews on draft and a full service outdoor deck with bar.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“O the smell of it all”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place draws you from anywhere in Jerome. The smell of the BBQ got my tastebuds excited from the minute we got to Jerome. We had the chicken sandwitch and it was good. They were out of Fries so that was a bummer. The staff was nice and the food good, the outside eating was nice too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    163
    30
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast at a BBQ place scores”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Apparently this is a stealth place for breakfast in Jerome so we were glad to get the insider track from John at the Connor Hotel. We grabbed a NYTimes and sat on the shaded outside deck and shared a large plate scrambled eggs, smokey sausage patties, potatoes, and a biscuit, accompanied by coffee and OJ.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kage1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ with excellent view in Jerome, AZ”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were there with a group of 14.....rode our cycles down from Williams for the day.....we all had different lunches.......great BBQ.......will return next time in Jerome.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwb7552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
202 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“' Que with a View”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Memorial Day weekend--slab of ribs, St. Loius style
Ordered dry with side of cornbread and mac&cheese.
Excellent quality meat cooked to perfection--meat came completely free of bone; almost
no fat waste.
Mac&cheese very good; cornbread just average
Server, Kevin, friendly, fast and attentive
Sat on deck with great view of the mesa/valley to east
Additional plus was a very good local vocalist/guitarist doing covers of Kris Kristofferson

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Change their name to Bobby Butters”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

One of the items we look for when we travel is BBQ... and we want gooooood BBQ. Sadly, we did not find this at Bobby D's.

We ordered the smoked pulled pork, smoked shredded beef brisket and smoked shredded chicken with veges and corn bread. There was not a shred of smokiness to any one of these items, and none of the three meats had textures that we considered as desirable. The brisket was not well trimmed, and appeared to have been sliced then grilled as a reheating method, which left it dried out and tasteless. The pork and chicken were dripping in butter. The BBQ sauce options were forgettable. On a Saturday afternoon they were out of ribs, and the deep fryer had been 'down for repairs' for apparently quite a while, which implied to us that there might be some management problems.

The waitress was nice - as was the entire staff - and very proud to advise that the corn bread would be pre-doused in butter. We are very fit individuals, but because we are mindful in what we eat we would have appreciated the option to butter items at our discretion. Additionally, given the obesity statistics in America these days, I feel the abundance of butter in their recipes is irresponsible. Since the mass quantities of butter distracted from the flavors and presentation, they may consider dialing it back severely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeezyBeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby D's BBQ at the English Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bobby D's BBQ at the English Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing