We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found this ghost town fascinating!”

Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$49.95*
and up
Mining Days Shuttle Tour in Jerome Arizona
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Jerome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: $5 per person.A quirky collection of mining artifacts, old cars and collectibles, housed in over 15 buildings. Working sawmill. Animals
Acton, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We found this ghost town fascinating!”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had the good fortune to arrive just as the gift shop opened and met the man who owns this property. He has lived there for 30 years. He has a priceless collection of antique cars, motorcycles and trucks of all kinds. He started up his early 1940's sawmill for us - and also showed us his 1941 Harley Davidson still runs like a champ as he whipped up and down the road like a youngster! Seeing the abandoned buildings and hearing the history on this abandoned copper mine was fascinating. We drooled over the many antiques. It was a fun trip and an attraction I wouldn't miss if you're in the area. The trinkets in the gift shop were all reasonably priced and cost was minimal to tour the grounds.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank DontTravelMuch052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    102
    66
    30
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gold King Mine - An Excellent Find for Off the Beaten Path Adventurers!”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The drive through Jerome, Arizona is a must for everyone. Last November a colleague of mine and I were traveling through Jerome and we came across a strange road that had a sign marked “Gold King Mine”. About 2 miles down the road we started to approach an ancient copper strip mine and then heavy mining machinery along the road. As we approached the Gold King Mine, we were both wondering if we should go any further…..
Fortunately, we went through the main entrance and were pleasantly surprised by the authentic turn-of-the-century mining camp. In addition to the mine, there were antique gas engines, a blacksmith shop, working sawmill and over 100 antique trucks and mining equipment. The vintage Caterpillar machinery was a favorite of mine. Needless to say, this was a photographers dream find (the mother load!) I actually met owner Don Robertson and this old timer was glad to show me his 1940’s Harley Davidson motorcycle (with NOS attached) and 1928 Indy Race Car. Don has a full crew of workers restoring the various machinery on this historic property. Although some might call this a junkyard, I would venture to guess that his property and equipment is worth millions at auction.
If you are interested in finding something authentic off the beaten path in Jerome, then this might be the place for you (especially if you're a photographer or interested in mining equipment and vintage trucks/machines.) This Arizona Excursion was a jewel of a find and I would highly recommend a visit to Don Robertson’s Gold King Mine!
See many photos and blog at: www.ferventlife.com and http://theferventlife.blogspot.com/2011/01/gold-king-mine-jerome-arizona.html

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank FERVENtLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best ever!”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

its funny reading some of the reviews, some think it is a bunch of junk. those who say that know nothing about history and value of history. what you call junk in those buildings is worth thousands of dollars. just because it has dust and rust does not mean it is junk. somthing that is 100 years old does not shine like a new car. the buildings are real and have been purchased and brought to his property by one of those old junk trucks you think does not run. i have been here 10 + times and 70% of what you think is junk really runs. if you are not into what is old and not made to look new then stay at home or go to wallmart. this is for a true history lover not a guy that wants to see a shinny hot rod that has knock off parts from china to make it look new again. don is a great guy and you need to take the time to talk to him a little to get a feel of what he is about and his love for the old original equipment that built america.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963mesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“No other place like this!”
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We go to Sedona, AZ, once a year in January and always take in the historic town of Jerome. It's about a 45 minute drive from Sedona. When we discovered The Gold King Museum & Mine we were in 7th Heaven - as photographers. We went spent a snowy, foggy day in the museum as the clouds decended on down Mingus Mountain. This place is full of everything old and interesting. Most of the other reviews say it all so I'll let our images speak for us. Definitely worth the $5 bucks and a few hours.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If You Like "American Pickers", You'll Love This Place!”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This place is like nowhere else I've been. Just like the show "American Pickers", there is an endless assortment of old, interesting things to look at. There's cars, trucks, engines, tools, gold-panning, and a gift shop. You get to talk to the owner who seems to be a jack-of-all-trades. He races his old Indy car and motorcycle, demonstrates the wood-cutter and other machines, and can tell you a story about each item on the property. Make sure you ask Pedro the burro for a kiss, but you'd better be quick with the camera. Better yet, let Bill take your picture. You'll be surprised!!!!!!!!!! WE LOVED IT.

Helpful?
1 Thank LIGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town also viewed

 

Been to Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing